Renewable energy projects in County Cavan

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

41
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
26
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
21.4
MW stated
from 4 of 41 applications that state one
266.0
Hectares of site area
across 40 applications
24
Substations with no capacity
of 67 near these projects
2
Under appeal now
6 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 41 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Cavan Application submitted 3 Under appeal 2 Permission granted 21 Permission refused 2 Withdrawn 2 Permission lapsed 7 No decision recorded 4

Technologies

Technologies in the County Cavan pipeline Solar 29 Wind 7 Battery storage 5 Grid infrastructure 2

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

23 of 41 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (56.1%). The remaining 18 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

12 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Ballyconnell

Under appeal BallyconnellCapacity not stated41.15 ha siteLodged Jan 14, 2026 Ref 2660003
Grid: GORTAWEE (110 kV), 0.85 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYCONNELL.

Solar — Mullagh

Application submitted MullaghCapacity not stated30.72 ha siteLodged Jul 8, 2026 Ref 2660389
Grid: MULLAGH (38 kV), 0.91 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at MULLAGH.

Solar — Lisdaran

Permission granted LisdaranCapacity not stated19.5 ha siteLodged Mar 14, 2022 Ref 22103
Grid: CAVAN (38 kV), 1.24 km away. 8.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAVAN.

Solar — Ballyjamesduff

Permission granted Ballyjamesduff8.0 MW stated16.64 ha siteLodged Oct 27, 2021 Ref 21655
Grid: BALLYJAMESDUFF (38 kV), 2.5 km away. 8.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYJAMESDUFF.

Solar — Finnea

Permission granted FinneaCapacity not stated14.7 ha siteLodged Nov 16, 2022 Ref 22460
Grid: FINNEA (38 kV), 0.76 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for FINNEA.

Solar — Cootehill

Permission granted CootehillCapacity not stated12.76 ha siteLodged Aug 16, 2021 Ref 21510
Grid: ERRIGAL (38 kV), 0.63 km away. 8.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ERRIGAL.

Solar — Killashandra

Permission granted KillashandraCapacity not stated10.5 ha siteLodged May 12, 2025 Ref 2560231
Grid: KILLESHANDRA (38 kV), 3.42 km away. 7.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLESHANDRA.

Solar — Ballyconnell

Permission granted BallyconnellCapacity not stated9.3 ha siteLodged Aug 27, 2025 Ref 2560506
Grid: GORTAWEE (110 kV), 0.53 km away. 55.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORTAWEE.

Solar — Crossdoney

Application submitted CrossdoneyCapacity not stated7.78 ha siteLodged Aug 27, 2026 Ref 2660488
Grid: DERRYCRAMPH (38 kV), 4.54 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at DERRYCRAMPH.

Battery storage — Ballinagh

Under appeal BallinaghCapacity not stated4.98 ha siteLodged Nov 8, 2023 Ref 2360264
Grid: ARVA (110 kV), 0.2 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARVA.

Wind — Cootehill

Permission granted CootehillCapacity not stated4.37 ha siteLodged Apr 27, 2021 Ref 21251
Grid: RATHRUSSAN (110 kV), 1.12 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RATHRUSSAN.

Solar — Annagelliff Cavan

Permission granted Annagelliff CavanCapacity not stated3.67 ha siteLodged Nov 17, 2021 Ref 21696
Grid: KILLYGARRY (38 kV), 0.6 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KILLYGARRY.

Solar — Virginia

Permission granted VirginiaCapacity not stated3.572 ha siteLodged Apr 30, 2024 Ref 2460181
Grid: VIRGINIA (38 kV), 2.06 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at VIRGINIA.

Battery storage — Clonervy Ed

Permission granted Clonervy EdCapacity not stated3.51 ha siteLodged Oct 25, 2023 Ref 2360236
Grid: SHANKILL (110 kV), 0.53 km away. 8.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANKILL.

Solar — Kingscourt

Application submitted KingscourtCapacity not stated3.51 ha siteLodged Aug 26, 2026 Ref 2660484
Grid: KINGSCOURT (38 kV), 1.27 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at KINGSCOURT.

Grid infrastructure — Ballyconnell

Permission granted BallyconnellCapacity not stated3.46 ha siteLodged Feb 29, 2024 Ref 2460072
Grid: GORTAWEE (110 kV), 0.13 km away. 55.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORTAWEE.

Solar — Corgarry Kingscourt

Permission granted Corgarry KingscourtCapacity not stated3.2 ha siteLodged Oct 28, 2021 Ref 21656
Grid: KINGSCOURT (38 kV), 1.99 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at KINGSCOURT.

Solar — Bailieborough

Permission granted BailieboroughCapacity not stated3.2 ha siteLodged Jul 11, 2025 Ref 2560379
Grid: BAILIEBORO (38 kV), 2.63 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BAILIEBORO.

Solar — Dreenan

Permission granted DreenanCapacity not stated2.95 ha siteLodged Jun 16, 2022 Ref 22247
Grid: DERRYCRAMPH (38 kV), 2.54 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at DERRYCRAMPH.

Solar — Cormey Kingscourt

Permission granted Cormey KingscourtCapacity not stated2.6 ha siteLodged Oct 10, 2022 Ref 22420
Grid: KINGSCOURT (38 kV), 3.06 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at KINGSCOURT.

Solar — Ballyhaise

Permission granted BallyhaiseCapacity not stated2.47 ha siteLodged Mar 3, 2023 Ref 2384
Grid: CAVAN (38 kV), 3.93 km away. 8.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAVAN.

Solar — Tullyco Cootehill

Permission granted Tullyco CootehillCapacity not stated2.06 ha siteLodged Nov 9, 2022 Ref 22458
Grid: RATHRUSSAN (110 kV), 5.15 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RATHRUSSAN.

Solar — Ballyconnell

Permission granted BallyconnellCapacity not stated2.036 ha siteLodged Aug 7, 2024 Ref 2460360
Grid: BALLYCONNELL (38 kV), 3.81 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYCONNELL.

Wind — Snugborough

Permission granted Snugborough4.2 MW stated1.94 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2021 Ref 21402
Grid: GORTAWEE (110 kV), 1.47 km away. 55.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORTAWEE.

Wind — Snugborough

Permission granted Snugborough4.2 MW stated1.94 ha siteLodged Apr 8, 2022 Ref 22137
Grid: GORTAWEE (110 kV), 1.44 km away. 55.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORTAWEE.

Battery storage + Solar — Cootehill

Permission granted CootehillCapacity not stated1.27 ha siteLodged Oct 9, 2025 Ref 2560603
Grid: ERRIGAL (38 kV), 0.38 km away. 8.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ERRIGAL.