Renewable energy projects in Galway City

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

7
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
4
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
3.0
MW stated
from 2 of 7 applications that state one
22.0
Hectares of site area
across 7 applications
1
Substations with no capacity
of 31 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
1 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 7 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in Galway City Permission granted 4 Withdrawn 2 Permission lapsed 1

Technologies

Technologies in the Galway City pipeline Solar 7

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

1 of 7 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (14.3%). The remaining 6 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Doughiska

Permission granted Doughiska1.5 MW stated4.63 ha siteLodged Oct 16, 2025 Ref 2560319
Grid: BALLYBRIT (38 kV), 1.91 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BALLYBRIT.

Solar — Galway City

Permission granted Galway CityCapacity not stated2.473 ha siteLodged Dec 17, 2020 Ref 20342
Grid: PARKMORE (38 kV), 1.62 km away. 8.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at PARKMORE.

Solar — Taylors Hill

Permission granted Taylors HillCapacity not stated2.27 ha siteLodged Aug 31, 2023 Ref 2360053
Grid: SALTHILL (110 kV), 0.7 km away. 36.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SALTHILL.

Solar — Mervue

Permission granted MervueCapacity not stated2.01 ha siteLodged Oct 11, 2022 Ref 22268
Grid: MERVUE (38 kV), 0.83 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MERVUE.