Renewable energy projects in County Longford

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

32
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
23
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
269.6
MW stated
from 11 of 32 applications that state one
4425.1
Hectares of site area
across 20 applications
5
Substations with no capacity
of 41 near these projects
3
Under appeal now
9 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 32 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Longford Application submitted 2 Under appeal 3 Permission granted 18 Withdrawn 2 Permission lapsed 6 No decision recorded 1

Technologies

Technologies in the County Longford pipeline Solar 20 Battery storage 8 Wind 8

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

14 of 32 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (43.8%). The remaining 18 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Lanesborough

Permission granted LanesboroughCapacity not stated1900.31 ha siteLodged Jan 31, 2019 Ref ABP-303592
Grid: AGHAMORE (38 kV), 5.32 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LANESBOROUGH.

Wind — Ballypheasan

Application submitted BallypheasanCapacity not stated1840.5 ha siteLodged May 9, 2025 Ref ABP-322485
Grid: AGHAMORE (38 kV), 5.28 km away. 0.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHAMORE.

Solar — Newcastle

Permission granted NewcastleCapacity not stated160.0 ha siteLodged Aug 5, 2022 Ref 22189
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 8.36 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.

Solar — Aghaloughan

Application submitted Aghaloughan85.0 MW stated146.9 ha siteLodged Aug 19, 2026 Ref 2660261
Grid: AGHAMORE (38 kV), 3.18 km away. 0.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHAMORE.

Battery storage + Solar — Ballymahon

Under appeal BallymahonCapacity not stated130.0 ha siteLodged Dec 20, 2024 Ref 2460325
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 0.03 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.

Battery storage + Solar — Ballymahon

Under appeal Ballymahon80.0 MW stated111.1 ha siteLodged Nov 14, 2025 Ref 2560265
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 2.45 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.

Solar — Cleggill

Permission granted CleggillCapacity not stated18.95 ha siteLodged Jun 9, 2023 Ref 2360044
Grid: RICHMOND (110 kV), 1.4 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at RICHMOND.

Solar — Moyvore

Permission granted MoyvoreCapacity not stated17.83 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2024 Ref 2460316
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 11.47 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.

Battery storage + Wind — Gorteenorna

Under appeal Gorteenorna7.0 MW stated17.28 ha siteLodged Dec 11, 2024 Ref 2460300
Grid: GLEBE (38 kV), 2.06 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLEBE.

Solar — Edgeworthstown

Permission granted EdgeworthstownCapacity not stated14.56 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2023 Ref 2360075
Grid: EDGEWORTHSTOWN (38 kV), 0.7 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at EDGEWORTHSTOWN.

Battery storage + Wind — Lanesborough

Permission granted LanesboroughCapacity not stated13.1 ha siteLodged Apr 1, 2022 Ref 2275
Grid: LANESBOROUGH (110 kV), 0.18 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LANESBOROUGH.

Solar — Ballinamuck

Permission granted BallinamuckCapacity not stated11.15 ha siteLodged Feb 24, 2026 Ref 2660061
Grid: CARRIGALLEN (38 kV), 10.29 km away. 4.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRIGALLEN.

Battery storage — Lanesborough

Permission granted LanesboroughCapacity not stated4.63 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2024 Ref 2460315
Grid: LANESBOROUGH (110 kV), 0.28 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LANESBOROUGH.

Wind — Lissanore

Permission granted Lissanore4.2 MW stated3.13 ha siteLodged Apr 19, 2023 Ref 2360010
Grid: EDGEWORTHSTOWN (38 kV), 2.86 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at EDGEWORTHSTOWN.

Solar — Newcastle

Permission granted NewcastleCapacity not stated2.084 ha siteLodged May 9, 2025 Ref 2560086
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 4.88 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.

Battery storage — Cloondara

Permission granted CloondaraCapacity not stated0.433 ha siteLodged Sep 18, 2025 Ref 2560203
Grid: RICHMOND (110 kV), 0.1 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at RICHMOND.

Solar — Edgeworthstown

Permission granted EdgeworthstownCapacity not stated0.019 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2023 Ref 2360074
Grid: EDGEWORTHSTOWN (38 kV), 0.7 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at EDGEWORTHSTOWN.

Solar — Killashee

Permission granted KillasheeCapacity not statedLodged Jul 29, 2021 Ref 21225
Grid: AGHAMORE (38 kV), 4.84 km away. 0.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHAMORE.

Solar — Cleggill

Permission granted Cleggill11.1 MW statedLodged Jul 29, 2021 Ref 21226
Grid: RICHMOND (110 kV), 1.4 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at RICHMOND.

Battery storage — Cloondara

Permission granted CloondaraCapacity not statedLodged Sep 19, 2022 Ref 22223
Grid: FISHERSTOWN (38 kV), 0.24 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for FISHERSTOWN.

Solar — Lanesborough

Permission granted LanesboroughCapacity not statedLodged Dec 8, 2022 Ref 22275
Grid: LANESBOROUGH (110 kV), 0.16 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LANESBOROUGH.

Solar — Cloondara

Permission granted Cloondara4.0 MW statedLodged Sep 26, 2023 Ref 23105
Grid: FISHERSTOWN (38 kV), 0.18 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for FISHERSTOWN.

Wind — Derrynaskea

Permission granted DerrynaskeaCapacity not statedLodged Oct 19, 2023 Ref 23108
Grid: BALLYMAHON (38 kV), 6.23 km away. 6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMAHON.