Renewable energy projects in County Monaghan

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

27
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
16
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
1.2
MW stated
from 1 of 27 applications that state one
294.5
Hectares of site area
across 26 applications
23
Substations with no capacity
of 46 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
3 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 27 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Monaghan Further information reque… 1 Permission granted 15 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 6 No decision recorded 4

Technologies

Technologies in the County Monaghan pipeline Solar 14 Wind 10 Battery storage 3

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

8 of 27 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (29.6%). The remaining 19 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

14 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Agha

Permission granted AghaCapacity not stated109.4 ha siteLodged Dec 4, 2018 Ref 18562
Grid: EMYVALE (38 kV), 4.66 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at EMYVALE.

Wind — Cornaheive

Permission granted CornaheiveCapacity not stated15.08 ha siteLodged Apr 19, 2022 Ref 22176
Grid: EMYVALE (38 kV), 4.36 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at EMYVALE.

Wind — Clonavilla

Further information requested ClonavillaCapacity not stated7.64 ha siteLodged Oct 7, 2025 Ref 2560400
Grid: CLONES (38 kV), 1.31 km away. 6.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONES.

Solar — Castleblayney

Permission granted Castleblayney1.2 MW stated7.14 ha siteLodged Feb 3, 2023 Ref 2340
Grid: CASTLEBLAYNEY (38 kV), 0.61 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLEBLAYNEY.

Solar — Scotstown

Permission granted ScotstownCapacity not stated6.547 ha siteLodged May 11, 2022 Ref 22212
Grid: NEW MONAGHAN (110 kV), 4.15 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NEW MONAGHAN.

Solar — Mullaghadun Td

Permission granted Mullaghadun TdCapacity not stated6.158 ha siteLodged Oct 6, 2022 Ref 22442
Grid: TELAYDON (38 kV), 0.77 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at TELAYDON.

Solar — Carrickmacross

Permission granted CarrickmacrossCapacity not stated5.98 ha siteLodged Apr 1, 2022 Ref 22144
Grid: CARRICKMACROSS (38 kV), 1.43 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARRICKMACROSS.

Solar — Clones

Permission granted ClonesCapacity not stated4.01 ha siteLodged Apr 22, 2022 Ref 22181
Grid: CLONES (38 kV), 2.84 km away. 6.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONES.

Wind — Lislongfield

Permission granted LislongfieldCapacity not stated3.68 ha siteLodged Mar 24, 2021 Ref 21136
Grid: CLONES (38 kV), 5.98 km away. 6.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONES.

Solar — Smithboro

Permission granted SmithboroCapacity not stated3.62 ha siteLodged May 13, 2022 Ref 22211
Grid: NEW MONAGHAN (110 kV), 6.79 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NEW MONAGHAN.

Solar — Killyvane

Permission granted KillyvaneCapacity not stated3.22 ha siteLodged Aug 5, 2022 Ref 22352
Grid: DRUMBEAR (38 kV), 0.99 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DRUMBEAR.

Solar — Tyholland

Permission granted TyhollandCapacity not stated2.13 ha siteLodged Dec 23, 2021 Ref 21708
Grid: LISDRUM (110 kV), 2.47 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LISDRUM.

Solar — Corlattallan

Permission granted CorlattallanCapacity not stated1.715 ha siteLodged Oct 27, 2023 Ref 2360256
Grid: EMYVALE (38 kV), 4.71 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at EMYVALE.

Battery storage — Castleshane

Permission granted CastleshaneCapacity not stated1.03 ha siteLodged Oct 30, 2025 Ref 2560435
Grid: LISDRUM (110 kV), 0.13 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LISDRUM.

Wind — Newbliss

Permission granted NewblissCapacity not stated0.113 ha siteLodged Nov 16, 2023 Ref 2360285
Grid: CLONES (38 kV), 7.44 km away. 6.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONES.

Wind — Castleblayney

Permission granted CastleblayneyCapacity not statedLodged Aug 23, 2021 Ref 219028
Grid: MULLINANALT (38 kV), 2.61 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MULLINANALT.