Renewable energy projects in Cork City

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

11
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
10
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
MW stated
from 0 of 11 applications that state one
85.6
Hectares of site area
across 9 applications
11
Substations with no capacity
of 81 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
5 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 11 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in Cork City Permission granted 10 Permission refused 1

Technologies

Technologies in the Cork City pipeline Solar 11 Battery storage 3

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

6 of 11 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (54.5%). The remaining 5 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Battery storage + Solar — Douglas

Permission granted DouglasCapacity not stated44.4 ha siteLodged Mar 16, 2023 Ref 2341837
Grid: DOUGLAS (38 kV), 3.75 km away. 11 MW of firm generation capacity available at DOUGLAS.

Solar — Hollyhill Industrial Estate

Permission granted Hollyhill Industrial EstateCapacity not stated13.98 ha siteLodged May 24, 2022 Ref 2241121
Grid: HOLLY HILL (38 kV), 0.2 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for HOLLY HILL.

Solar — Tramore Road

Permission granted Tramore RoadCapacity not stated10.56 ha siteLodged Jun 1, 2022 Ref 2241147
Grid: TRABEG (110 kV), 1.04 km away. 26.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at TRABEG.

Solar — Cork City

Permission granted Cork CityCapacity not stated2.99 ha siteLodged Aug 15, 2024 Ref 2443191
Grid: HOLLY HILL (38 kV), 2.24 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for HOLLY HILL.

Solar — Kilcully

Permission granted KilcullyCapacity not stated2.81 ha siteLodged Jul 21, 2023 Ref 2342173
Grid: KILNAP (110 kV), 1.3 km away. 38.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILBARRY.

Solar — Inniscarra

Permission granted InniscarraCapacity not stated2.64 ha siteLodged Jun 18, 2021 Ref 2140293
Grid: COOLROE (110 kV), 0.7 km away. 25.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at COOLROE.

Solar — Blackrock

Permission granted BlackrockCapacity not stated2.45 ha siteLodged Nov 28, 2024 Ref 2443435
Grid: DOUGLAS (38 kV), 1.44 km away. 11 MW of firm generation capacity available at DOUGLAS.

Solar — Carrigaline Road

Permission granted Carrigaline RoadCapacity not stated2.17 ha siteLodged Aug 16, 2021 Ref 2140429
Grid: DOUGLAS (38 kV), 1.5 km away. 11 MW of firm generation capacity available at DOUGLAS.

Battery storage + Solar — Inniscarra

Permission granted InniscarraCapacity not statedLodged Dec 21, 2018 Ref 187410
Grid: COOLROE (110 kV), 1.43 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for INNISCARRA.

Battery storage + Solar — Douglas

Permission granted DouglasCapacity not statedLodged May 29, 2019 Ref 195371
Grid: DOUGLAS (38 kV), 3.75 km away. 11 MW of firm generation capacity available at DOUGLAS.