Renewable energy projects in Fingal

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

28
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
17
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
9.5
MW stated
from 3 of 28 applications that state one
522.0
Hectares of site area
across 25 applications
3
Substations with no capacity
of 195 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
0 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 28 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in Fingal Application submitted 1 Permission granted 16 Permission refused 1 Permission lapsed 5 No decision recorded 4 Status not published 1

Technologies

Technologies in the Fingal pipeline Solar 23 Battery storage 4 Wind 2

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

6 of 28 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (21.4%). The remaining 22 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

2 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Killsallaghan

Permission granted KillsallaghanCapacity not stated105.4 ha siteLodged Jul 14, 2021 Ref F21A/0042
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 3.11 km away. 3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.

Solar — Bishopswood

Application submitted BishopswoodCapacity not stated85.88 ha siteLodged Aug 6, 2026 Ref FW26A/0308E/R3
Grid: HUNTSTOWN (220 kV), 3.68 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for HUNTSTOWN.

Solar — Kinoud

Permission granted KinoudCapacity not stated84.35 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2023 Ref F23A/0130
Grid: COURTLOUGH (110 kV), 5.09 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for COURTLOUGH.

Solar — Ring Commons

Permission granted Ring CommonsCapacity not stated16.58 ha siteLodged Dec 20, 2024 Ref F24A/1182E
Grid: COURTLOUGH (110 kV), 3.81 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for COURTLOUGH.

Solar — Ballyboghil

Permission granted BallyboghilCapacity not stated12.92 ha siteLodged May 20, 2024 Ref F23A/0743
Grid: BATTER LANE (110 kV), 4.66 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BATTER LANE.

Battery storage — Johnstown

Permission granted JohnstownCapacity not stated11.79 ha siteLodged Oct 2, 2024 Ref FW24A/0400E
Grid: HUNTSTOWN (220 kV), 0.07 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for HUNTSTOWN.

Solar — Dublin 11

Permission granted Dublin 11Capacity not stated11.762 ha siteLodged Aug 22, 2024 Ref FW24A/0344
Grid: DUNSINK (110 kV), 1.07 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNSINK.

Solar — Dublin 11

Permission granted Dublin 11Capacity not stated5.33 ha siteLodged Aug 20, 2021 Ref FW21A/0102
Grid: CORDUFF (220 kV), 1.5 km away. 38.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CORDUFF.

Solar — Blanchardstown

Permission granted BlanchardstownCapacity not stated4.96 ha siteLodged Aug 30, 2021 Ref FW21A/0153
Grid: COLLEGE PARK (110 kV), 0.27 km away. 64.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at COLLEGE PARK.

Solar — St. Margarets

Permission granted St. MargaretsCapacity not stated2.5992 ha siteLodged Apr 4, 2018 Ref F18A/0170
Grid: DUBLIN AIRPORT (38 kV), 3.55 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUBLIN AIRPORT.

Solar — Damastown Industrial Park

Permission granted Damastown Industrial ParkCapacity not stated2.58 ha siteLodged Feb 10, 2025 Ref FW25A/0042E
Grid: MACETOWN (110 kV), 0.39 km away. 25.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MACETOWN.

Solar — Oldtown

Permission granted Oldtown2.166 MW stated2.4265 ha siteLodged Apr 23, 2018 Ref F17A/0718
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 3.06 km away. 3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.

Solar — Mulhuddart

Permission granted MulhuddartCapacity not stated2.38 ha siteLodged Nov 17, 2020 Ref FW20A/0039
Grid: MACETOWN (110 kV), 0.65 km away. 25.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MACETOWN.

Solar — Mulhuddart

Permission granted MulhuddartCapacity not stated2.38 ha siteLodged May 11, 2021 Ref FW21A/0086
Grid: MACETOWN (110 kV), 0.65 km away. 25.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MACETOWN.

Solar — Lusk

Permission granted LuskCapacity not stated2.19 ha siteLodged Jan 5, 2022 Ref F22A/0001
Grid: LOUGHSHINNY (38 kV), 2.5 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHSHINNY.

Solar — Kilsallaghan

Permission granted KilsallaghanCapacity not statedLodged Apr 5, 2022 Ref F21A/0607
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 3.57 km away. 3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.

Battery storage — Finglas

Permission granted FinglasCapacity not statedLodged Feb 4, 2019 Ref FW19A/0015
Grid: HUNTSTOWN (220 kV), 0.11 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for HUNTSTOWN.