County Kilkenny
Renewable energy projects in County Kilkenny
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
72
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
45
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
110.5
MW stated
from 4 of 72 applications that state one
2622.6
Hectares of site area
across 71 applications
34
Substations with no capacity
of 86 near these projects
2
Under appeal now
14 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 72 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Kilkenny
Application submitted
4
Further information reque…
2
Under appeal
2
Permission granted
37
Permission refused
4
Withdrawn
3
Permission lapsed
8
No decision recorded
12
Technologies
Technologies in the County Kilkenny pipeline
Solar
42
Wind
23
Battery storage
14
Grid infrastructure
1
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
31 of 72 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(43.1%). The remaining 41 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
14 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 297.89 ha site Lodged Mar 13, 2025
Ref ABP-322069
Grid: BALLYRAGGET (38 kV), 4.38 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.
Permission granted
Castlebanny Capacity not stated 269.96 ha site Lodged Jan 28, 2021
Ref ABP-309306
Grid: BALLYHALE (38 kV), 5.62 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHALE.
Under appeal
Nicholastown Capacity not stated 189.0 ha site Lodged Jun 27, 2025
Ref 2560391
Grid: SNOWHILL (38 kV), 2.88 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SNOWHILL.
Permission granted
Curraghduff Capacity not stated 165.3 ha site Lodged Jan 3, 2025
Ref 2560003
Grid: BLANCHFIELD (38 kV), 6.75 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BLANCHFIELD.
Permission granted
Brownstown Capacity not stated 112.0 ha site Lodged Sep 29, 2022
Ref 22644
Grid: NOWLAN PARK (38 kV), 3.18 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NOWLAN PARK.
Permission granted
Thomastown Capacity not stated 103.6 ha site Lodged Feb 27, 2023
Ref 2360069
Grid: GRAIGUENAMANAGH (38 kV), 7.95 km away.
1.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRAIGUENAMANAGH.
Application submitted
Ballyfasy Upper Capacity not stated 93.87 ha site Lodged Dec 15, 2025
Ref ABP-323957
Grid: KNOCKMULLEN (38 kV), 8.22 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KNOCKMULLEN.
Under appeal
Moatpark Capacity not stated 69.3 ha site Lodged Jul 9, 2025
Ref 2560418
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 1.89 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 58.33 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360330
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 1.23 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.
Permission granted
Clarabricke Capacity not stated 53.5 ha site Lodged Aug 25, 2023
Ref 2360382
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 4.64 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Smithstown Capacity not stated 46.0 ha site Lodged Dec 21, 2020
Ref 20897
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 4.43 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 39.6 ha site Lodged Oct 11, 2017
Ref 17669
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 1.53 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCONRA.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 39.6 ha site Lodged Jul 14, 2023
Ref 2360318
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 1.53 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCONRA.
Application submitted
Ballyfasy Capacity not stated 36.33 ha site Lodged Dec 15, 2025
Ref ABP-323958
Grid: BALLYHALE (38 kV), 8.26 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHALE.
Application submitted
Drumdowney Upper Capacity not stated 34.8 ha site Lodged Jun 8, 2026
Ref 2660349
Grid: SNOWHILL (38 kV), 2.73 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SNOWHILL.
Permission granted
Killeen Capacity not stated 30.84 ha site Lodged Jul 22, 2021
Ref 21627
Grid: BLANCHFIELD (38 kV), 8.39 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BLANCHFIELD.
Permission granted
Tullogher Capacity not stated 30.0 ha site Lodged Jun 27, 2025
Ref 2560388
Grid: KNOCKMULLEN (38 kV), 4.9 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KNOCKMULLEN.
Permission granted
Archersleas Capacity not stated 25.1 ha site Lodged Jul 9, 2025
Ref 2560416
Grid: ROSEHILL (38 kV), 2.58 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSEHILL.
Application submitted
Ballysallagh Capacity not stated 21.8 ha site Lodged Mar 31, 2026
Ref 2660186
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 2.5 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Cloneen Capacity not stated 19.53 ha site Lodged May 7, 2024
Ref 2460210
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 8.25 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 17.34 ha site Lodged Mar 1, 2022
Ref 22126
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 0.87 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCONRA.
Permission granted
Keatingstown Capacity not stated 14.0 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360329
Grid: TALBOTS INCH (38 kV), 1.76 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TALBOTS INCH.
Permission granted
Ballyhale Capacity not stated 13.9 ha site Lodged Jul 9, 2021
Ref 21595
Grid: BALLYHALE (38 kV), 0.87 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHALE.
Permission granted
Ballyconra Ballyragget Capacity not stated 13.0 ha site Lodged May 19, 2023
Ref 2360201
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 0.85 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCONRA.
Permission granted
Ring Road Loughboy Capacity not stated 11.95 ha site Lodged Oct 7, 2022
Ref 22662
Grid: ROSEHILL (38 kV), 2.02 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSEHILL.
Permission granted
Loughboy Kilkenny Capacity not stated 11.8 ha site Lodged Feb 21, 2025
Ref 2560075
Grid: ROSEHILL (38 kV), 2.04 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSEHILL.
Permission granted
Goresbridge 4.0 MW stated 11.34 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2021
Ref 21649
Grid: GORESBRIDGE (38 kV), 0.39 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORESBRIDGE.
Permission granted
Kiltorcan Capacity not stated 9.0 ha site Lodged Aug 27, 2019
Ref 19605
Grid: BALLYHALE (38 kV), 1.22 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHALE.
Permission granted
Freshford Road Capacity not stated 8.3 ha site Lodged Apr 26, 2023
Ref 2360163
Grid: TALBOTS INCH (38 kV), 0.88 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TALBOTS INCH.
Permission granted
Lousybush And Capacity not stated 7.29 ha site Lodged Apr 23, 2021
Ref 21327
Grid: TALBOTS INCH (38 kV), 1.09 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TALBOTS INCH.
Further information requested
Loan Capacity not stated 5.98 ha site Lodged May 15, 2026
Ref 2660292
Grid: CASTLECOMER (38 kV), 0.84 km away.
1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLECOMER.
Permission granted
Callan Capacity not stated 5.4 ha site Lodged Dec 21, 2020
Ref 20899
Grid: CALLAN (38 kV), 2.05 km away.
1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CALLAN.
Permission granted
Scart Capacity not stated 4.12 ha site Lodged Sep 22, 2023
Ref 2360419
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 0.14 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 3.3 ha site Lodged May 17, 2024
Ref 2460221
Grid: BALLYRAGGET (38 kV), 0.12 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.
Permission granted
Castlewarren Capacity not stated 3.12 ha site Lodged Oct 17, 2025
Ref 2560670
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 9.64 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Ballyragget Capacity not stated 3.11 ha site Lodged May 27, 2024
Ref 2460241
Grid: BALLYRAGGET (38 kV), 0.27 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.
Permission granted
Roughfield Abbeygrove Annfield Capacity not stated 3.071 ha site Lodged Jul 22, 2022
Ref 22487
Grid: KILKENNY (110 kV), 2.05 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILKENNY.
Permission granted
Loughboy Capacity not stated 3.07 ha site Lodged Mar 31, 2021
Ref 21245
Grid: ROSEHILL (38 kV), 1.18 km away.
8.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSEHILL.
Permission granted
Graiguenamanagh Capacity not stated 2.8 ha site Lodged Jun 19, 2025
Ref 2560357
Grid: GRAIGUENAMANAGH (38 kV), 0.7 km away.
1.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRAIGUENAMANAGH.
Permission granted
Jenkinstown Capacity not stated 2.4 ha site Lodged Aug 31, 2022
Ref 22576
Grid: BALLYRAGGET (38 kV), 7.16 km away.
8.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYRAGGET.