Renewable energy projects in County Laois

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

40
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
21
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
112.0
MW stated
from 2 of 40 applications that state one
1010.2
Hectares of site area
across 35 applications
19
Substations with no capacity
of 68 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
6 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 40 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Laois Application submitted 1 Further information reque… 1 Under appeal 1 Permission granted 18 Permission refused 1 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 5 No decision recorded 12

Technologies

Technologies in the County Laois pipeline Solar 26 Wind 13 Battery storage 2

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

19 of 40 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (47.5%). The remaining 21 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

3 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Raheennahown North

Permission granted Raheennahown NorthCapacity not stated249.0 ha siteLodged Mar 24, 2025 Ref 2560148
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 9.93 km away. 4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.

Solar — Stradbally

Permission granted Stradbally80.0 MW stated141.5 ha siteLodged Apr 23, 2025 Ref 2560237
Grid: MEELICK (38 kV), 7.42 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MEELICK.

Solar — Stradbally

Permission granted StradballyCapacity not stated141.4 ha siteLodged Oct 2, 2017 Ref 17532
Grid: MEELICK (38 kV), 7.41 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MEELICK.

Wind — Kylenabehy

Application submitted KylenabehyCapacity not stated73.2 ha siteLodged Jun 5, 2026 Ref ABP-324343
Grid: CASTLECOMER (38 kV), 10.04 km away. 1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLECOMER.

Wind — Forest Lower

Permission granted Forest LowerCapacity not stated48.38 ha siteLodged Feb 17, 2020 Ref 2078
Grid: MOUNTMELLICK (38 kV), 5.5 km away. 5.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOUNTMELLICK.

Battery storage + Solar — Portarlington

Permission granted Portarlington32.0 MW stated22.7 ha siteLodged Sep 23, 2025 Ref 2560611
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 5.78 km away. 4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.

Wind — Durrow

Under appeal DurrowCapacity not stated14.87 ha siteLodged Jul 9, 2025 Ref 2560414
Grid: BALLYCONRA (38 kV), 3.28 km away. 0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCONRA.

Solar — Portlaoise

Permission granted PortlaoiseCapacity not stated11.9 ha siteLodged Jan 13, 2025 Ref 2560014
Grid: PORTLAOISE (110 kV), 3.34 km away. 13.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTLAOISE.

Solar — Portlaoise

Permission granted PortlaoiseCapacity not stated8.44 ha siteLodged Aug 10, 2022 Ref 22495
Grid: OLDTOWN (38 kV), 1.13 km away. 13.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTLAOISE.

Solar — Portlaoise

Permission granted PortlaoiseCapacity not stated8.44 ha siteLodged Sep 6, 2024 Ref 2460517
Grid: OLDTOWN (38 kV), 1.07 km away. 13.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTLAOISE.

Solar — Mountrath

Permission granted MountrathCapacity not stated5.0 ha siteLodged Aug 29, 2022 Ref 22535
Grid: MOUNTRATH (38 kV), 1.37 km away. 5.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOUNTRATH.

Solar — Portlaoise

Permission granted PortlaoiseCapacity not stated4.99 ha siteLodged May 26, 2025 Ref 2560317
Grid: PALLAS (38 kV), 0.79 km away. 13.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTLAOISE.

Solar — Mountmellick

Permission granted MountmellickCapacity not stated4.23 ha siteLodged Dec 17, 2024 Ref 2460773
Grid: MOUNTMELLICK (38 kV), 3.46 km away. 5.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOUNTMELLICK.

Solar — Ballinakill

Permission granted BallinakillCapacity not stated3.9 ha siteLodged Sep 30, 2024 Ref 24133
Grid: ABBEYLEIX (38 kV), 6.83 km away. 2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ABBEYLEIX.

Battery storage — Portarlington

Permission granted PortarlingtonCapacity not stated3.4 ha siteLodged Jul 10, 2023 Ref 2360261
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 3.14 km away. 4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.

Solar — Emo

Permission granted EmoCapacity not stated3.01 ha siteLodged Sep 4, 2023 Ref 2360353
Grid: MOUNTMELLICK (38 kV), 6.85 km away. 5.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOUNTMELLICK.

Solar — Togher Portlaoise

Permission granted Togher PortlaoiseCapacity not stated2.618 ha siteLodged Dec 21, 2023 Ref 2360562
Grid: OLDTOWN (38 kV), 1.23 km away. 13.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTLAOISE.

Solar — Portarlington

Further information requested PortarlingtonCapacity not stated2.0 ha siteLodged Jul 6, 2025 Ref 2560407
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 6.16 km away. 4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.

Wind — Colt Ballyroan

Permission granted Colt BallyroanCapacity not stated0.4 ha siteLodged Oct 22, 2021 Ref 21728
Grid: RAHEEN (Lineschool) (38 kV), 4.8 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RAHEEN (Lineschool).

Wind — Knockardagur

Permission granted KnockardagurCapacity not statedLodged Oct 19, 2020 Ref 20308448
Grid: CASTLECOMER (38 kV), 6.21 km away. 1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLECOMER.

Wind — Knockardagur

Permission granted KnockardagurCapacity not statedLodged Aug 18, 2022 Ref 22507
Grid: CASTLECOMER (38 kV), 6.53 km away. 1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLECOMER.