Renewable energy projects in County Roscommon

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

58
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
29
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
166.2
MW stated
from 13 of 58 applications that state one
1649.0
Hectares of site area
across 50 applications
7
Substations with no capacity
of 68 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
8 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 58 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Roscommon Application submitted 2 Further information reque… 4 Permission granted 23 Permission refused 4 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 7 No decision recorded 17

Technologies

Technologies in the County Roscommon pipeline Solar 26 Wind 25 Battery storage 14

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

38 of 58 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (65.5%). The remaining 20 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

11 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Rahara

Permission granted RaharaCapacity not stated578.14 ha siteLodged Jun 7, 2022 Ref ABP-313750
Grid: BALLYGAR (38 kV), 12.08 km away. 2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYGAR.

Wind — Knockadoobrusna Ballytrasna

Application submitted Knockadoobrusna BallytrasnaCapacity not stated291.1 ha siteLodged Mar 27, 2026 Ref ABP-324167
Grid: BOYLE (38 kV), 11.86 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BOYLE.

Battery storage + Solar — Cuilmore

Further information requested CuilmoreCapacity not stated116.0 ha siteLodged Apr 15, 2026 Ref 2660164
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 5.73 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Solar — Athlone

Permission granted AthloneCapacity not stated77.76 ha siteLodged Nov 9, 2021 Ref 21638
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 5.68 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Solar — Boyle

Permission granted BoyleCapacity not stated68.8 ha siteLodged Jan 8, 2026 Ref 2660015
Grid: BOYLE (38 kV), 4.81 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BOYLE.

Solar — Cuilglass

Permission granted CuilglassCapacity not stated60.0 ha siteLodged Jun 21, 2021 Ref 21350
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 2.75 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MONKSLAND.

Solar — Barrymore Kiltoom Athlone

Permission granted Barrymore Kiltoom AthloneCapacity not stated59.71 ha siteLodged Nov 3, 2023 Ref 2360204
Grid: ATHLONE (110 kV), 6.22 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Wind — Ballyhubert

Permission granted BallyhubertCapacity not stated49.774 ha siteLodged Sep 15, 2025 Ref 2560446
Grid: SLIABH BAWN (110 kV), 4.43 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SLIABH BAWN.

Solar — Carrick-On-Shannon

Permission granted Carrick-On-Shannon30.0 MW stated37.97 ha siteLodged Jan 29, 2025 Ref 2560026
Grid: CARRICK ON SHANNON (110 kV), 1.37 km away. 16.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRICK ON SHANNON.

Wind — Knockadoobrusna Ballytrasna

Permission granted Knockadoobrusna BallytrasnaCapacity not stated35.58 ha siteLodged Oct 21, 2021 Ref 21595
Grid: BOYLE (38 kV), 2.63 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BOYLE.

Battery storage + Wind — Rahara

Further information requested RaharaCapacity not stated27.4 ha siteLodged Apr 17, 2026 Ref 2660172
Grid: BALLYGAR (38 kV), 11.18 km away. 2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYGAR.

Solar — Athlone

Application submitted Athlone10.0 MW stated16.3 ha siteLodged Aug 19, 2026 Ref 2660426
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 1.58 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Solar — Creevyquin

Permission granted CreevyquinCapacity not stated13.66 ha siteLodged Jan 26, 2017 Ref 1728
Grid: ROSCOMMON (38 kV), 1.12 km away. 3.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSCOMMON.

Solar — Castlerea

Permission granted CastlereaCapacity not stated12.03 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2017 Ref 17295
Grid: CASTLEREA (38 kV), 1.05 km away. 3.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLEREA.

Solar — Castlerea

Permission granted CastlereaCapacity not stated11.87 ha siteLodged Oct 13, 2023 Ref 2360172
Grid: CASTLEREA (38 kV), 1.05 km away. 3.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLEREA.

Solar — Ballyboughan

Permission granted BallyboughanCapacity not stated9.4 ha siteLodged May 11, 2023 Ref 23190
Grid: ROSCOMMON (38 kV), 3.28 km away. 3.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSCOMMON.

Solar — Ballaghaderreen

Permission granted BallaghaderreenCapacity not stated5.78 ha siteLodged Mar 10, 2023 Ref 2376
Grid: BALLAGHADERREEN (38 kV), 1.19 km away. 2.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLAGHADERREEN.

Solar — Athlone

Permission granted AthloneCapacity not stated5.672 ha siteLodged Oct 18, 2024 Ref 2460495
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 5.85 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Battery storage + Solar — Athlone

Permission granted Athlone80.0 MW stated4.46 ha siteLodged May 16, 2023 Ref 23197
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 2.86 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Wind — Co. Roscomnon

Permission granted Co. Roscomnon4.2 MW stated4.4 ha siteLodged Sep 29, 2023 Ref 2360142
Grid: ROSCOMMON (38 kV), 7.52 km away. 3.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSCOMMON.

Wind — Roxborough

Permission granted Roxborough4.9 MW stated4.1 ha siteLodged Oct 31, 2023 Ref 2360198
Grid: ROSCOMMON (38 kV), 2.9 km away. 3.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSCOMMON.

Solar — Athleague

Permission granted AthleagueCapacity not stated3.07 ha siteLodged Dec 20, 2022 Ref 22675
Grid: BALLYGAR (38 kV), 6.94 km away. 2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYGAR.

Solar — Technology Park

Permission granted Technology ParkCapacity not stated2.857 ha siteLodged Sep 9, 2022 Ref 22487
Grid: ROSCOMMON (38 kV), 2.69 km away. 3.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ROSCOMMON.

Solar — Cloonfad

Permission granted CloonfadCapacity not stated2.35 ha siteLodged Oct 14, 2025 Ref 2560486
Grid: BALLYHAUNIS (38 kV), 10.35 km away. 6.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHAUNIS.

Battery storage — Ballaghaderreen

Further information requested BallaghaderreenCapacity not stated2.33 ha siteLodged Jun 22, 2026 Ref 2660302
Grid: TONROE (110 kV), 0.17 km away. 2.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLAGHADERREEN.

Solar — Athlone

Further information requested AthloneCapacity not stated1.98 ha siteLodged Apr 17, 2026 Ref 2660170
Grid: MONKSLAND (38 kV), 2.97 km away. 15.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHLONE.

Battery storage — Lough Allen

Permission granted Lough AllenCapacity not stated1.621 ha siteLodged Dec 13, 2023 Ref 2360265
Grid: ARIGNA (110 kV), 0.15 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at ARIGNA.

Battery storage — Castlerea

Permission granted CastlereaCapacity not stated0.644 ha siteLodged Oct 14, 2025 Ref 2560487
Grid: CASTLEREA (38 kV), 0.05 km away. 3.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLEREA.

Solar — Castlerea

Permission granted CastlereaCapacity not stated0.044 ha siteLodged Aug 3, 2023 Ref 23332
Grid: CASTLEREA (38 kV), 0.96 km away. 3.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLEREA.