Renewable energy projects in South Dublin

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Oct 28, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

49
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
37
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
MW stated
from 0 of 49 applications that state one
360.7
Hectares of site area
across 49 applications
4
Substations with no capacity
of 189 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
5 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 49 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in South Dublin Permission granted 37 Withdrawn 3 Permission lapsed 3 No decision recorded 6

Technologies

Technologies in the South Dublin pipeline Solar 44 Battery storage 5 Wind 2 Grid infrastructure 1

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

29 of 49 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (59.2%). The remaining 20 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated42.97 ha siteLodged Nov 15, 2017 Ref SD17A/0406
Grid: COOKSTOWN (110 kV), 1.29 km away. 14.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at BELGARD.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated16.23 ha siteLodged Nov 2, 2020 Ref SD20A/0283
Grid: CORKAGH (110 kV), 0.12 km away. 62.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE CASTLE.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated16.23 ha siteLodged May 27, 2026 Ref SD20A/0283/EP
Grid: CORKAGH (110 kV), 0.12 km away. 62.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE CASTLE.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated15.6 ha siteLodged Nov 5, 2024 Ref SDZ24A/0029W
Grid: BALGADDY (38 kV), 0.69 km away. 12.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALGADDY.

Wind — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated13.672464688727501 ha siteLodged Aug 2, 2011 Ref SD118/0004
Grid: WHITESTOWN (38 kV), 0.81 km away. 12.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at WHITESTOWN.

Grid infrastructure — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated9.3 ha siteLodged Jun 26, 2006 Ref SD06A/0527
Grid: KILMAHUD (110 kV), 0.39 km away. 62.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE CASTLE.

Battery storage — Newcastle

Permission granted NewcastleCapacity not stated8.2 ha siteLodged Feb 28, 2020 Ref SD20A/0058
Grid: KILMAHUD (110 kV), 1.04 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KILMAHUD.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated6.8261444386837 ha siteLodged Jan 6, 2023 Ref LRD23A/0001
Grid: CITYWEST (110 kV), 0.24 km away. 30.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CITYWEST.

Battery storage + Solar — Newcastle

Permission granted NewcastleCapacity not stated6.69 ha siteLodged Jan 24, 2023 Ref SD23A/0012
Grid: KILMAHUD (110 kV), 1.32 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KILMAHUD.

Battery storage + Solar — Saggart

Permission granted SaggartCapacity not stated6.37881655820701 ha siteLodged May 9, 2023 Ref SD23A/0100
Grid: SAGGART (38 kV), 1.37 km away. 5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at SAGGART.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated6.3439 ha siteLodged Apr 26, 2022 Ref SD22A/0124
Grid: WHITESTOWN (38 kV), 1.05 km away. 26.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at FORTUNESTOWN.

Solar — Rathcoole

Permission granted RathcooleCapacity not stated5.807 ha siteLodged Oct 3, 2008 Ref SD08A/0684
Grid: SAGGART (38 kV), 2.39 km away. 5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at SAGGART.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated5.18 ha siteLodged Dec 15, 2022 Ref SDZ22A/0018
Grid: CLONDALKIN (38 kV), 1.26 km away. 28 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONDALKIN.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated4.87 ha siteLodged Dec 20, 2018 Ref SD18A/0447
Grid: CLONDALKIN (38 kV), 0.61 km away. 28 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONDALKIN.

Wind — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated4.519 ha siteLodged Nov 12, 2003 Ref SD03A/0838
Grid: YELLOWMEADOWS (110 kV), 0.47 km away. 28 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONDALKIN.

Solar — Dublin 16

Permission granted Dublin 16Capacity not stated4.5 ha siteLodged Apr 24, 2019 Ref SD19A/0144
Grid: BALLYBODEN (38 kV), 1.8 km away. 8.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYBODEN.

Solar — Dublin 16

Permission granted Dublin 16Capacity not stated4.5 ha siteLodged Jun 19, 2020 Ref SD20A/0146
Grid: BALLYBODEN (38 kV), 1.8 km away. 8.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYBODEN.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated4.435 ha siteLodged Dec 21, 2016 Ref SD16A/0451
Grid: WHITESTOWN (38 kV), 0.28 km away. 12.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at WHITESTOWN.

Solar — Dublin 16

Permission granted Dublin 16Capacity not stated4.1 ha siteLodged Jun 19, 2006 Ref SD06A/0503
Grid: BALLYBODEN (38 kV), 3.77 km away. 8.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYBODEN.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated4.07 ha siteLodged Mar 23, 2020 Ref SD20A/0082
Grid: CORKAGH (110 kV), 0.5 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CORKAGH.

Solar — Rathcoole

Permission granted RathcooleCapacity not stated3.96 ha siteLodged Jul 30, 2019 Ref SD19A/0240
Grid: SAGGART (38 kV), 2 km away. 5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILTEEL.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated3.92 ha siteLodged Jul 8, 2026 Ref RED26A/0018W
Grid: FORTUNESTOWN (110 kV), 0.14 km away. 26.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at FORTUNESTOWN.

Solar — Lucan

Permission granted LucanCapacity not stated3.77 ha siteLodged Apr 28, 2020 Ref SDZ20A/0008
Grid: ADAMSTOWN (110 kV), 0.75 km away. 24.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ADAMSTOWN.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated3.71 ha siteLodged Jun 5, 2015 Ref SD15A/0150
Grid: OLDBAWN (38 kV), 1.89 km away. 10.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at OLDBAWN.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated3.228 ha siteLodged Apr 23, 2025 Ref SD25A/0097W
Grid: KILMAHUD (110 kV), 0.23 km away. 62.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE CASTLE.

Solar — Rathcoole

Permission granted RathcooleCapacity not stated3.14 ha siteLodged Oct 6, 2021 Ref SD21A/0276
Grid: SAGGART (38 kV), 2.46 km away. 5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at SAGGART.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated2.9 ha siteLodged Jul 4, 2022 Ref SD22A/0299
Grid: FORTUNESTOWN (110 kV), 0.43 km away. 26.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at FORTUNESTOWN.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated2.836 ha siteLodged Sep 15, 2023 Ref SD23A/0227
Grid: CITYWEST (110 kV), 0.63 km away. 30.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CITYWEST.

Solar — Aerodrome Business Park

Permission granted Aerodrome Business ParkCapacity not stated2.72 ha siteLodged Jan 21, 2025 Ref SD25A/0008
Grid: SAGGART (38 kV), 2.1 km away. 5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at SAGGART.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated2.65 ha siteLodged Jul 5, 2021 Ref SD21A/0186
Grid: BARNAKYLE (110 kV), 0.61 km away. 28 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONDALKIN.

Solar — Adjoining Lands

Permission granted Adjoining LandsCapacity not stated2.56 ha siteLodged Dec 21, 2023 Ref LRD23A/0014
Grid: BALLYBODEN (38 kV), 0.85 km away. 8.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYBODEN.

Solar — Clondalkin

Permission granted ClondalkinCapacity not stated2.4 ha siteLodged Jun 20, 2022 Ref SD22A/0280
Grid: LIFFEY VALLEY (38 kV), 0.48 km away. 13.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at LIFFEY VALLEY.

Solar — Dublin 12

Permission granted Dublin 12Capacity not stated2.4 ha siteLodged Jun 10, 2025 Ref SD25A/0139W
Grid: GREENHILLS (38 kV), 0.36 km away. 9.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GREENHILLS.

Solar — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated2.32 ha siteLodged Dec 8, 2025 Ref SD25A/0301W
Grid: YELLOWMEADOWS (110 kV), 0.16 km away. 28 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONDALKIN.

Solar — Dublin 24

Permission granted Dublin 24Capacity not stated2.21355884284061 ha siteLodged Jul 5, 2018 Ref SD188/0003
Grid: COOKSTOWN (110 kV), 0.57 km away. 67.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at COOKSTOWN.

Solar — Newcastle

Permission granted NewcastleCapacity not stated2.01 ha siteLodged Oct 11, 2024 Ref SD24A/0224W
Grid: KILMAHUD (110 kV), 0.84 km away. 62.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE CASTLE.

Battery storage — Dublin 22

Permission granted Dublin 22Capacity not stated0.08 ha siteLodged Feb 22, 2023 Ref SD23A/0035
Grid: BARNAKYLE (110 kV), 0.29 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BARNAKYLE.