Renewable energy projects in County Westmeath

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

47
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
30
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
33.0
MW stated
from 5 of 47 applications that state one
3839.5
Hectares of site area
across 32 applications
9
Substations with no capacity
of 60 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
9 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 47 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Westmeath Application submitted 2 Further information reque… 2 Under appeal 1 Permission granted 25 Permission refused 7 Withdrawn 3 Permission lapsed 5 No decision recorded 2

Technologies

Technologies in the County Westmeath pipeline Solar 29 Wind 13 Battery storage 7

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

14 of 47 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (29.8%). The remaining 33 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

20 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Ballivor Bog Group

Permission granted Ballivor Bog GroupCapacity not stated1763.14 ha siteLodged Apr 5, 2023 Ref ABP-316212
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 5.93 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.

Wind — Moate

Application submitted MoateCapacity not stated336.6 ha siteLodged Jan 8, 2025 Ref ABP-321595
Grid: MOATE (38 kV), 8.06 km away. 1.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOATE.

Wind — Coolronan

Permission granted CoolronanCapacity not stated271.5 ha siteLodged Oct 5, 2021 Ref ABP-311565
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 2.83 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.

Solar — Rochfortbridge

Under appeal RochfortbridgeCapacity not stated243.0 ha siteLodged Jul 8, 2025 Ref 2560344
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 8.3 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.

Wind — Mullagh

Application submitted MullaghCapacity not stated168.38 ha siteLodged Jul 1, 2025 Ref ABP-322902
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 6.11 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Battery storage + Solar — Clonlost

Permission granted ClonlostCapacity not stated157.0 ha siteLodged May 30, 2025 Ref 2560268
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 6.09 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.

Solar — Walshestown South

Permission granted Walshestown SouthCapacity not stated140.0 ha siteLodged Feb 23, 2024 Ref 2460050
Grid: MULLINGAR (110 kV), 9.31 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Clondardis

Permission granted ClondardisCapacity not stated43.0 ha siteLodged Apr 25, 2025 Ref 2560201
Grid: MULLINGAR (110 kV), 4.76 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not stated27.46 ha siteLodged Jul 4, 2023 Ref 2360200
Grid: MULLINGAR (110 kV), 4.16 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Castlepollard

Permission granted CastlepollardCapacity not stated16.96 ha siteLodged Feb 19, 2025 Ref 2560053
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 1.7 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Solar — Castlepollard

Permission granted CastlepollardCapacity not stated15.6 ha siteLodged Jul 13, 2023 Ref 2360222
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 1.59 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not stated12.5 ha siteLodged Jul 6, 2023 Ref 2360210
Grid: BALLINDERRY (38 kV), 1.44 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted Mullingar7.0 MW stated9.3 ha siteLodged Jan 12, 2023 Ref 2360003
Grid: BALLINDERRY (38 kV), 6.48 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLINDERRY.

Solar — Milltownpass

Permission granted MilltownpassCapacity not stated7.7 ha siteLodged Mar 25, 2024 Ref 2460087
Grid: KINNEGAD (110 kV), 6.34 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KINNEGAD.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not stated5.8 ha siteLodged May 3, 2024 Ref 2460149
Grid: ASHE ROAD (38 kV), 0.91 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Kinnegad

Permission granted KinnegadCapacity not stated3.87 ha siteLodged May 15, 2025 Ref 2560240
Grid: KINNEGAD (110 kV), 4.15 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KINNEGAD.

Solar — Hightown Or Balloughter

Permission granted Hightown Or BalloughterCapacity not stated3.5 ha siteLodged Jan 13, 2020 Ref ABP-306396
Grid: KINNEGAD (110 kV), 5.75 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KINNEGAD.

Solar — Moate

Permission granted MoateCapacity not stated3.3 ha siteLodged May 31, 2023 Ref 2360155
Grid: MOATE (38 kV), 1.43 km away. 1.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOATE.

Solar — Castlepollard

Permission granted CastlepollardCapacity not stated3.24 ha siteLodged Apr 26, 2023 Ref 2360103
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 1.36 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Solar — Corcloon

Further information requested CorcloonCapacity not stated2.42 ha siteLodged Mar 16, 2026 Ref 2660122
Grid: KINNEGAD (110 kV), 7.55 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KINNEGAD.

Solar — Moate

Permission granted MoateCapacity not stated1.8 ha siteLodged Dec 20, 2022 Ref 2260041
Grid: MOATE (38 kV), 0.81 km away. 1.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOATE.

Wind — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not stated1.2 ha siteLodged Apr 17, 2025 Ref 2560189
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 8.45 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Battery storage — Rochfortbridge

Further information requested RochfortbridgeCapacity not stated1.0 ha siteLodged Mar 29, 2026 Ref 2660145
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 8.41 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not stated0.055 ha siteLodged Jul 6, 2023 Ref 2360209
Grid: BALLINDERRY (38 kV), 1.21 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Solar — Castlepollard

Permission granted CastlepollardCapacity not stated0.043 ha siteLodged Jul 13, 2023 Ref 2360223
Grid: LOUGHANALLA (38 kV), 1.41 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHANALLA.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted Mullingar12.458 MW statedLodged Feb 3, 2017 Ref 176028
Grid: MULLINGAR (110 kV), 4.15 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Battery storage — Rochfortbridge

Permission granted RochfortbridgeCapacity not statedLodged Sep 29, 2021 Ref 21532
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 8.5 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.

Wind — County Wstmeath

Permission granted County WstmeathCapacity not statedLodged Nov 18, 2021 Ref 21620
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 3.95 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.

Solar — Mullingar

Permission granted MullingarCapacity not statedLodged Mar 14, 2022 Ref 22113
Grid: MULLINGAR (110 kV), 4.76 km away. 24.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLINGAR.

Wind — Liclogher Great

Permission granted Liclogher GreatCapacity not statedLodged Dec 18, 2024 Ref 2479
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 3.95 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.