Renewable energy projects in County Carlow

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

44
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
26
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
466.0
MW stated
from 6 of 44 applications that state one
1550.0
Hectares of site area
across 24 applications
16
Substations with no capacity
of 50 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
10 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 44 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Carlow Under appeal 1 Permission granted 25 Permission refused 1 Permission lapsed 2 No decision recorded 15

Technologies

Technologies in the County Carlow pipeline Solar 33 Battery storage 13 Wind 8 Grid infrastructure 1

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

6 of 44 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (13.6%). The remaining 38 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

25 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Coan East

Permission granted Coan EastCapacity not stated290.03 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2022 Ref ABP-315365
Grid: MONAVEA (38 kV), 8.73 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MONAVEA.

Solar — Linkardstown

Permission granted LinkardstownCapacity not stated192.0 ha siteLodged Feb 28, 2024 Ref 2460043
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 6.44 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Battery storage + Solar — Killerrig

Permission granted KillerrigCapacity not stated132.2 ha siteLodged Jul 11, 2024 Ref 2460196
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 4.92 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Ballon

Permission granted Ballon63.0 MW stated118.9 ha siteLodged Sep 17, 2024 Ref 2460295
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 3.19 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Battery storage + Solar — Friarstown

Permission granted FriarstownCapacity not stated91.2 ha siteLodged Dec 14, 2023 Ref 2360297
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 2.75 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Tinryland

Permission granted TinrylandCapacity not stated73.0 ha siteLodged Jul 19, 2024 Ref 2460205
Grid: GRAIGUE (38 kV), 4.51 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at GRAIGUE.

Solar — Friarstown

Permission granted FriarstownCapacity not stated65.6 ha siteLodged Jan 29, 2021 Ref 2123
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 2.62 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Ballycarney

Permission granted BallycarneyCapacity not stated57.0 ha siteLodged May 22, 2025 Ref 2560137
Grid: GRAIGUE (38 kV), 4.42 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at GRAIGUE.

Solar — Tullow

Permission granted Tullow20.0 MW stated22.45 ha siteLodged Aug 18, 2023 Ref 2360177
Grid: TULLOW (38 kV), 1.32 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at TULLOW.

Battery storage + Solar — Tullow

Permission granted TullowCapacity not stated20.9 ha siteLodged Aug 19, 2022 Ref 22272
Grid: TULLOW (38 kV), 1.32 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at TULLOW.

Solar — Bagenalstown

Permission granted BagenalstownCapacity not stated14.16 ha siteLodged Aug 3, 2023 Ref 2360159
Grid: BAGENALSTOWN (38 kV), 0.62 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BAGENALSTOWN.

Battery storage + Solar — O’ Brien Road

Permission granted O’ Brien RoadCapacity not stated11.8 ha siteLodged Dec 16, 2025 Ref 2560416
Grid: POLLERTON (38 kV), 0.51 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at POLLERTON.

Solar — Sacred Heart Building

Permission granted Sacred Heart BuildingCapacity not stated10.34 ha siteLodged Nov 1, 2023 Ref 2360254
Grid: POLLERTON (38 kV), 1.11 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at POLLERTON.

Solar — Ballinacarrig

Permission granted BallinacarrigCapacity not stated6.1 ha siteLodged Oct 18, 2024 Ref 2460332
Grid: POLLERTON (38 kV), 3.35 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at POLLERTON.

Battery storage + Solar — Bendinstown

Under appeal BendinstownCapacity not stated3.8 ha siteLodged Jun 9, 2025 Ref 2560155
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 2.14 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Solar — Bagenalstown

Permission granted BagenalstownCapacity not stated0.38 ha siteLodged Aug 3, 2023 Ref 2360158
Grid: BAGENALSTOWN (38 kV), 0.29 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BAGENALSTOWN.

Solar — Bendinstown

Permission granted BendinstownCapacity not stated0.285 ha siteLodged Jul 31, 2025 Ref 2560220
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 2.17 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Battery storage — Kellistown East

Permission granted Kellistown East100.0 MW statedLodged Feb 1, 2018 Ref 1823
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 0.33 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Battery storage + Solar — Killerig

Permission granted KillerigCapacity not statedLodged Feb 12, 2019 Ref 1946
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 2.23 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Ardbearn

Permission granted ArdbearnCapacity not statedLodged May 11, 2020 Ref 20143
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 2.61 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Solar — Bennekerry

Permission granted BennekerryCapacity not statedLodged Feb 13, 2020 Ref 2044
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 0.77 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Friarstown

Permission granted FriarstownCapacity not statedLodged Feb 12, 2021 Ref 2138
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 1.49 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.

Solar — Bagnelstown

Permission granted BagnelstownCapacity not statedLodged Mar 29, 2022 Ref 22118
Grid: BAGENALSTOWN (38 kV), 0.62 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BAGENALSTOWN.

Solar — Templepeter

Permission granted TemplepeterCapacity not statedLodged May 20, 2022 Ref 22163
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 4.41 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Solar — Bendinstown

Permission granted BendinstownCapacity not statedLodged Jun 15, 2022 Ref 22199
Grid: KELLIS (220 kV), 2.23 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KELLIS.

Battery storage + Solar — Killerig

Permission granted KillerigCapacity not statedLodged May 30, 2023 Ref 2392
Grid: CARLOW (110 kV), 3.54 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CARLOW.