County Galway
Renewable energy projects in County Galway
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Oct 28, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
87
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
47
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
528.8
MW stated
from 14 of 87 applications that state one
50537.2
Hectares of site area
across 87 applications
2
Substations with no capacity
of 79 near these projects
4
Under appeal now
20 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 87 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Galway
Application submitted
5
Under appeal
4
Permission granted
38
Permission refused
12
Withdrawn
6
Permission lapsed
17
No decision recorded
5
Technologies
Technologies in the County Galway pipeline
Solar
57
Wind
22
Battery storage
17
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
28 of 87 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(32.2%). The remaining 59 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
7 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Application submitted
Capacity not stated 43852.65 ha site Lodged Jan 17, 2025
Ref ABP-321697
Grid: No grid station within 15 km (nearest is CARNA, 28.05 km).
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CARNA.
Permission granted
Finnaun Capacity not stated 1491.76 ha site Lodged Nov 23, 2018
Ref ABP-303086
Grid: UGGOOL (110 kV), 1.46 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for UGGOOL.
Permission granted
Cregmore Capacity not stated 140.0 ha site Lodged Dec 22, 2025
Ref 25363
Grid: CASHLA (220 kV), 2.93 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CASHLA.
Under appeal
Cahernamona Capacity not stated 130.3 ha site Lodged Sep 29, 2025
Ref 2561412
Grid: ATHENRY (38 kV), 9.34 km away.
7.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHENRY.
Permission granted
Nth Capacity not stated 125.0 ha site Lodged Sep 24, 2023
Ref 2361143
Grid: KILCOLGAN (38 kV), 6.14 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILCOLGAN.
Permission granted
Creggs 75.0 MW stated 107.4 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2023
Ref 2360875
Grid: BALLYGAR (38 kV), 7.43 km away.
2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYGAR.
Application submitted
Lackagh Turloughmore Capacity not stated 93.0 ha site Lodged Sep 16, 2026
Ref 2661567
Grid: CLAREGALWAY (38 kV), 1.83 km away.
2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLAREGALWAY.
Permission granted
South Galway 70.0 MW stated 86.3 ha site Lodged Sep 24, 2025
Ref 2561380
Grid: GORT (38 kV), 6.47 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORT.
Permission granted
Graveshill Capacity not stated 81.9 ha site Lodged Sep 5, 2023
Ref 2361049
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 3.9 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Graveshill Capacity not stated 81.9 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2025
Ref 2561903
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 3.9 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Moycullen Capacity not stated 77.8 ha site Lodged Jun 1, 2023
Ref 23225
Grid: KNOCKRANNY (110 kV), 1.78 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRANNY.
Application submitted
Moor Capacity not stated 65.72 ha site Lodged Mar 23, 2026
Ref 2660431
Grid: CASHLA (220 kV), 2.36 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CASHLA.
Permission granted
Cloontoa Capacity not stated 62.6 ha site Lodged Sep 25, 2020
Ref 201387
Grid: CLOON (110 kV), 0.73 km away.
9.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLOON.
Permission granted
Tuam Capacity not stated 60.7 ha site Lodged Feb 7, 2026
Ref 2660183
Grid: CLOON (110 kV), 0.73 km away.
5.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TUAM SOUTH.
Permission granted
Lisheenaguil Capacity not stated 56.2 ha site Lodged Dec 17, 2024
Ref 2461749
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 5.45 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Lisheenaguil Capacity not stated 56.2 ha site Lodged Jan 8, 2026
Ref 2660009
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 5.45 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Tuam Capacity not stated 48.01 ha site Lodged Sep 10, 2025
Ref 2561293
Grid: CLOON (110 kV), 2.07 km away.
5.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TUAM SOUTH.
Under appeal
Sheeaunrush Capacity not stated 42.3 ha site Lodged Jul 8, 2024
Ref 2460845
Grid: OLDSTREET (400 kV), 0.54 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for OLDSTREET.
Application submitted
Moyveela 36.0 MW stated 39.52 ha site Lodged Mar 13, 2026
Ref 2660398
Grid: CASHLA (220 kV), 4.01 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CASHLA.
Permission granted
Athenry Capacity not stated 32.47 ha site Lodged Aug 31, 2023
Ref 2361035
Grid: ATHENRY (38 kV), 1.82 km away.
7.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHENRY.
Permission granted
Athenry Capacity not stated 30.68 ha site Lodged Jul 10, 2024
Ref 2460861
Grid: ATHENRY (38 kV), 1.82 km away.
7.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHENRY.
Permission granted
Claregalway Capacity not stated 24.51 ha site Lodged Nov 3, 2022
Ref 2261105
Grid: CASHLA (220 kV), 3.33 km away.
2.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLAREGALWAY.
Permission granted
Rinville Park Capacity not stated 13.06 ha site Lodged Oct 23, 2025
Ref 2561561
Grid: ORANMORE (38 kV), 3.66 km away.
11.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at ORANMORE.
Permission granted
Rooaun Capacity not stated 11.65 ha site Lodged Mar 31, 2017
Ref 17427
Grid: CREAGH (38 kV), 1.73 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CREAGH.
Application submitted
Moycullen Capacity not stated 10.3 ha site Lodged Sep 18, 2026
Ref 2661584
Grid: KNOCKRANNY (110 kV), 0.86 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRANNY.
Permission granted
Moycullen Capacity not stated 10.15 ha site Lodged Dec 10, 2025
Ref 2561825
Grid: KNOCKRANNY (110 kV), 0.88 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRANNY.
Permission granted
Glenamaddy Capacity not stated 9.68 ha site Lodged Aug 11, 2023
Ref 2360943
Grid: GLENAMADDY (38 kV), 1.42 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at GLENAMADDY.
Permission granted
Gort Community School Capacity not stated 7.79 ha site Lodged Jan 5, 2024
Ref 2460005
Grid: GORT (38 kV), 1.42 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at GORT.
Permission granted
Barrettstown Capacity not stated 7.0 ha site Lodged Dec 6, 2023
Ref 2361460
Grid: CASHLA (220 kV), 2.31 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CASHLA.
Under appeal
Athenry Capacity not stated 4.34 ha site Lodged Jun 24, 2026
Ref 2661048
Grid: ATHENRY (38 kV), 2.65 km away.
7.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHENRY.
Permission granted
Tuam 4.8 MW stated 4.3 ha site Lodged Nov 17, 2022
Ref 221175
Grid: CLOON (110 kV), 1.11 km away.
5.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TUAM SOUTH.
Permission granted
Craughwell Capacity not stated 4.04 ha site Lodged Jan 22, 2026
Ref 2660067
Grid: KILCOLGAN (38 kV), 4.12 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILCOLGAN.
Under appeal
Ballinasloe Capacity not stated 4.0 ha site Lodged Nov 18, 2025
Ref 2561691
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 3.37 km away.
6.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLINASLOE.
Permission granted
Athenry Capacity not stated 3.99 ha site Lodged Dec 23, 2022
Ref 2261321
Grid: ATHENRY (38 kV), 2.86 km away.
7.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHENRY.
Permission granted
Rinville Capacity not stated 3.43 ha site Lodged Jun 27, 2024
Ref 2460783
Grid: ORANMORE (38 kV), 4.53 km away.
11.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at ORANMORE.
Permission granted
Ballycrissane Capacity not stated 3.28 ha site Lodged Dec 22, 2022
Ref 2261301
Grid: BALLYCROSSAUN (38 kV), 0.56 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYCROSSAUN.
Permission granted
Tuam Capacity not stated 3.18 ha site Lodged Aug 30, 2024
Ref 2461139
Grid: TUAM SOUTH (38 kV), 1.5 km away.
5.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TUAM SOUTH.
Permission granted
Somerset Capacity not stated 3.02 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360827
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 0.15 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Somerset Capacity not stated 3.02 ha site Lodged Jun 4, 2026
Ref 2660898
Grid: SOMERSET (110 kV), 0.15 km away.
6.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at SOMERSET.
Permission granted
Loughrea Capacity not stated 2.963 ha site Lodged Sep 8, 2023
Ref 23369
Grid: CURRA (38 kV), 8.33 km away.
3.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CURRA.