Renewable energy projects in County Leitrim

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

14
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
8
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
10.0
MW stated
from 1 of 14 applications that state one
483.1
Hectares of site area
across 9 applications
8
Substations with no capacity
of 46 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
5 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 14 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Leitrim Application submitted 2 Under appeal 1 Permission granted 5 Permission refused 1 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 2 No decision recorded 2

Technologies

Technologies in the County Leitrim pipeline Wind 10 Solar 4

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

8 of 14 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (57.1%). The remaining 6 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

5 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Tullyskeherny

Application submitted TullyskehernyCapacity not stated388.38 ha siteLodged May 14, 2026 Ref ABP-324290
Grid: MANORHAMILTON (38 kV), 6.34 km away. 4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at MANORHAMILTON.

Wind — Tullynamoyle

Permission granted TullynamoyleCapacity not stated25.0 ha siteLodged Oct 31, 2024 Ref 2460223
Grid: CORDERRY (110 kV), 5.12 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CORDERRY.

Solar — Mullanadarragh

Permission granted Mullanadarragh10.0 MW stated11.24 ha siteLodged Nov 21, 2025 Ref 2560285
Grid: CARRIGALLEN (38 kV), 0.96 km away. 4.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRIGALLEN.

Solar — Carrigallen

Permission granted CarrigallenCapacity not stated2.75 ha siteLodged May 23, 2024 Ref 2460100
Grid: CARRIGALLEN (38 kV), 2.6 km away. 4.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRIGALLEN.

Solar — Aughavas

Application submitted AughavasCapacity not stated2.65 ha siteLodged Aug 13, 2026 Ref 2660197
Grid: CARRIGALLEN (38 kV), 3.03 km away. 4.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRIGALLEN.

Wind — Greaghnaslieve

Permission granted GreaghnaslieveCapacity not stated1.13 ha siteLodged Jul 19, 2023 Ref 2360047
Grid: GARVAGH (110 kV), 4 km away. 26.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GARVAGH.

Wind — As Above

Under appeal As AboveCapacity not statedLodged Jul 29, 2020 Ref 20120
Grid: GARVAGH (110 kV), 1.68 km away. 26.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GARVAGH.

Wind — As Above

Permission granted As AboveCapacity not statedLodged Mar 29, 2021 Ref 2157
Grid: CORDERRY (110 kV), 5.36 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CORDERRY.