County Limerick
Renewable energy projects in County Limerick
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
59
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
42
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
6.3
MW stated
from 3 of 59 applications that state one
2000.9
Hectares of site area
across 38 applications
25
Substations with no capacity
of 147 near these projects
3
Under appeal now
9 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 59 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Limerick
Application submitted
5
Further information reque…
2
Under appeal
3
Permission granted
32
Permission refused
2
Withdrawn
6
Permission lapsed
2
No decision recorded
7
Technologies
Technologies in the County Limerick pipeline
Solar
47
Wind
12
Battery storage
5
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
33 of 59 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(55.9%). The remaining 26 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
17 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Application submitted
Killonan Capacity not stated 788.98 ha site Lodged Mar 27, 2026
Ref ABP-324164
Grid: PIPERHILL (38 kV), 1.93 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for PIPERHILL.
Application submitted
Knockuregare Capacity not stated 252.91 ha site Lodged Sep 29, 2025
Ref ABP-323780
Grid: BRUFF (38 kV), 6.53 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BRUFF.
Application submitted
Knocklong Capacity not stated 210.0 ha site Lodged Aug 10, 2026
Ref 2660918
Grid: GARRYSPILLANE (38 kV), 7.28 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at GARRYSPILLANE.
Application submitted
Charleville Capacity not stated 158.18 ha site Lodged Sep 10, 2025
Ref ABP-323635
Grid: RATHGOGGIN (38 kV), 4.83 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLEVILLE.
Application submitted
Glin Capacity not stated 70.01 ha site Lodged Aug 14, 2026
Ref 2660943
Grid: KILPADDOGE (220 kV), 4.19 km away.
1.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILPADDOGE.
Permission granted
Rathkeale Capacity not stated 63.4 ha site Lodged Apr 11, 2024
Ref 2460320
Grid: RATHKEALE (110 kV), 0.55 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at RATHKEALE.
Under appeal
Lisbane Capacity not stated 43.04 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2025
Ref 2561367
Grid: DUNMOYLAN (38 kV), 2.67 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNMOYLAN.
Permission granted
Crecora Capacity not stated 39.54 ha site Lodged Dec 17, 2025
Ref 2561346
Grid: PATRICKSWELL (38 kV), 3.78 km away.
3.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PATRICKSWELL.
Permission granted
Raheen Capacity not stated 33.3 ha site Lodged Nov 25, 2024
Ref 2461160
Grid: BALLYCUMMIN (110 kV), 0.42 km away.
12.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at RAHEEN.
Permission granted
Foynes Capacity not stated 18.0 ha site Lodged Dec 14, 2017
Ref 171174
Grid: FOYNES (38 kV), 2.36 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at FOYNES.
Permission granted
Mungret Capacity not stated 12.1 ha site Lodged Mar 8, 2018
Ref 18215
Grid: MONETEEN (110 kV), 2.23 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MUNGRET.
Permission granted
Lisnagry Capacity not stated 11.4 ha site Lodged Sep 18, 2020
Ref 20940
Grid: AHANE (110 kV), 2.54 km away.
9.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at AHANE.
Permission granted
Cloonpasteen Capacity not stated 8.54 ha site Lodged Jul 17, 2025
Ref 2560698
Grid: MILFORD (MWR) (38 kV), 3.43 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at MILFORD (MWR).
Permission granted
Cappamore Capacity not stated 7.9 ha site Lodged May 4, 2017
Ref 17396
Grid: CAPPAMORE (38 kV), 1.5 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAPPAMORE.
Permission granted
Mulgrave Street Capacity not stated 7.435 ha site Lodged Mar 13, 2025
Ref 2560205
Grid: GARRYOWEN (38 kV), 0.5 km away.
18.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at GARRYOWEN.
Permission granted
Askeaton Capacity not stated 7.22 ha site Lodged Jul 1, 2026
Ref 2660751
Grid: ASKEATON (38 kV), 0.55 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ASKEATON.
Under appeal
Singland Limerick Capacity not stated 6.18 ha site Lodged May 28, 2026
Ref 2660603
Grid: SINGLAND (110 kV), 0.38 km away.
24.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at SINGLAND.
Permission granted
Glin Capacity not stated 4.17 ha site Lodged Aug 21, 2025
Ref 2560828
Grid: TARBERT (220 kV), 6.11 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TARBERT.
Permission granted
Adare Manor Adare Capacity not stated 3.76 ha site Lodged Mar 5, 2024
Ref 2460189
Grid: PATRICKSWELL (38 kV), 5.28 km away.
3.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PATRICKSWELL.
Permission granted
Moyross Limerick Capacity not stated 3.64 ha site Lodged Nov 16, 2023
Ref 2360837
Grid: MOYLISH (38 kV), 0.82 km away.
6.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOYLISH.
Permission granted
Lisbane Capacity not stated 3.59 ha site Lodged Jan 9, 2024
Ref 2460013
Grid: NEWCASTLEWEST (38 kV), 1.48 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at NEWCASTLEWEST.
Under appeal
Raheen 2.33 MW stated 3.48 ha site Lodged Apr 30, 2026
Ref 2660490
Grid: BALLYCUMMIN (110 kV), 1.1 km away.
12.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at RAHEEN.
Further information requested
Foynes Capacity not stated 3.325 ha site Lodged May 19, 2026
Ref 2660559
Grid: FOYNES (38 kV), 0.25 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at FOYNES.
Permission granted
Oola Capacity not stated 3.24 ha site Lodged May 27, 2022
Ref 22313667
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 4.82 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Croom Capacity not stated 2.587 ha site Lodged Feb 26, 2024
Ref 2460159
Grid: PATRICKSWELL (38 kV), 9.11 km away.
3.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at PATRICKSWELL.
Permission granted
Ballycummin Capacity not stated 2.387 ha site Lodged Sep 17, 2024
Ref 2460921
Grid: BALLYCUMMIN (110 kV), 0.87 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BALLYCUMMIN.
Further information requested
Caheranardrish Mungret Capacity not stated 2.2 ha site Lodged Feb 19, 2026
Ref 2660173
Grid: MONETEEN (110 kV), 0.7 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MUNGRET.
Permission granted
Castletroy Limerick 1.0 MW stated 1.829 ha site Lodged Apr 16, 2025
Ref 2560332
Grid: CASTLETROY (38 kV), 0.1 km away.
5.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLETROY.
Permission granted
Athea Capacity not stated 1.0 ha site Lodged Feb 27, 2026
Ref 2660215
Grid: ATHEA (110 kV), 0.1 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ATHEA.
Permission granted
Ballinknockane Capacity not stated Lodged Dec 21, 2017
Ref 171220
Grid: FOYNES (38 kV), 3.6 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at FOYNES.
Permission granted
Athea Capacity not stated Lodged Dec 21, 2017
Ref 171228
Grid: ATHEA (110 kV), 0.05 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ATHEA.
Permission granted
Kilmallock Capacity not stated Lodged Apr 13, 2017
Ref 17326
Grid: KILMALLOCK (38 kV), 0.91 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMALLOCK.
Permission granted
Cappamore Capacity not stated Lodged Aug 9, 2017
Ref 17750
Grid: CAPPAMORE (38 kV), 0.66 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAPPAMORE.
Permission granted
Glengort South Capacity not stated Lodged Nov 8, 2018
Ref 181085
Grid: KNOCKAWARRIGA (38 kV), 0.16 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKAWARRIGA.
Permission granted
Athea Capacity not stated Lodged Sep 25, 2018
Ref 18934
Grid: ATHEA (110 kV), 0.04 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ATHEA.
Permission granted
Shanagolden Capacity not stated Lodged Jan 14, 2019
Ref 1918
Grid: DUNMOYLAN (38 kV), 3.36 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNMOYLAN.
Permission granted
Abbeyfeale Capacity not stated Lodged Aug 8, 2019
Ref 19782
Grid: ABBEYFEALE (38 kV), 1.65 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ABBEYFEALE.
Permission granted
Moanroe Capacity not stated Lodged Nov 12, 2021
Ref 211565
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 5.07 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Athea Capacity not stated Lodged Dec 8, 2021
Ref 211702
Grid: ATHEA (110 kV), 0.09 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ATHEA.
Permission granted
Mullagh Capacity not stated Lodged Nov 29, 2022
Ref 221258
Grid: DUNMOYLAN (38 kV), 2.94 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNMOYLAN.