Renewable energy projects in County Mayo

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

46
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
28
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
48.5
MW stated
from 4 of 46 applications that state one
10938.8
Hectares of site area
across 31 applications
10
Substations with no capacity
of 54 near these projects
2
Under appeal now
5 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 46 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Mayo Application submitted 4 Further information reque… 1 Under appeal 2 Permission granted 21 Permission refused 2 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 9 No decision recorded 6

Technologies

Technologies in the County Mayo pipeline Wind 29 Battery storage 12 Solar 9

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

22 of 46 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (47.8%). The remaining 24 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

4 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Shanvodinnaun

Permission granted ShanvodinnaunCapacity not stated5074.76 ha siteLodged Jul 4, 2013 Ref ABP-PA0029
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 3.7 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Wind — Shanvodinnaun

Permission granted ShanvodinnaunCapacity not stated2273.04 ha siteLodged Mar 31, 2023 Ref ABP-316178
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 4.93 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Wind — Lugnalettin

Permission granted LugnalettinCapacity not stated1298.05 ha siteLodged Dec 14, 2023 Ref ABP-318701
Grid: No grid station within 15 km (nearest is BELLACORRICK, 15.37 km). ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Wind — Sheskin

Permission granted SheskinCapacity not stated1006.28 ha siteLodged Mar 1, 2023 Ref ABP-315933
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 6.67 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Wind — Castleconnor

Permission granted CastleconnorCapacity not stated460.66 ha siteLodged Jul 6, 2023 Ref ABP-317560
Grid: GLENREE (110 kV), 3.77 km away. 2.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLENREE.

Battery storage + Wind — Castlelackan Demesne

Application submitted Castlelackan DemesneCapacity not stated119.19 ha siteLodged Apr 30, 2026 Ref ABP-324258
Grid: TAWNAGHMORE (110 kV), 8.57 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at TAWNAGHMORE.

Wind — Ballinglen

Under appeal BallinglenCapacity not stated81.88 ha siteLodged Aug 29, 2024 Ref 2460537
Grid: LISGLENNON (38 kV), 14.19 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LISGLENNON.

Wind — Knockaunakill

Under appeal KnockaunakillCapacity not stated65.0 ha siteLodged May 20, 2026 Ref 2660398
Grid: CLAREMORRIS (38 kV), 7.09 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLAREMORRIS.

Battery storage + Solar — Ballina

Permission granted Ballina23.0 MW stated16.5 ha siteLodged May 10, 2024 Ref 2460282
Grid: ARDNAREE (38 kV), 1.52 km away. 12 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNAREE.

Wind — Crossmolina

Application submitted CrossmolinaCapacity not stated9.33 ha siteLodged Jul 27, 2026 Ref 2660599
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 4.89 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Solar — Cong

Permission granted CongCapacity not stated8.3 ha siteLodged May 14, 2024 Ref 2460297
Grid: CONG (38 kV), 2.91 km away. 6.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CONG.

Wind — Bunree

Further information requested BunreeCapacity not stated5.87 ha siteLodged Jun 30, 2026 Ref 2660511
Grid: MOY (110 kV), 3.5 km away. 2.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CROSSMOLINA.

Solar — Castlebar

Permission granted CastlebarCapacity not stated5.1 ha siteLodged Jun 26, 2024 Ref 2460392
Grid: NEW CASTLEBAR (38 kV), 0.52 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NEW CASTLEBAR.

Solar — Kilgarriff West Charlestown

Permission granted Kilgarriff West CharlestownCapacity not stated5.03 ha siteLodged Dec 18, 2024 Ref 2460780
Grid: CHARLESTOWN (38 kV), 4.6 km away. 2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLESTOWN.

Wind — Levallyroe

Permission granted LevallyroeCapacity not stated5.0 ha siteLodged May 7, 2025 Ref 2560272
Grid: BALLYHAUNIS (38 kV), 4.93 km away. 6.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYHAUNIS.

Wind — Ballina

Permission granted BallinaCapacity not stated4.6 ha siteLodged Apr 8, 2026 Ref 2660270
Grid: GLENREE (110 kV), 0.8 km away. 2.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLENREE.

Solar — Charlestown

Permission granted CharlestownCapacity not stated4.487 ha siteLodged Jul 17, 2024 Ref 2460451
Grid: CHARLESTOWN (38 kV), 5.01 km away. 2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLESTOWN.

Solar — Charlestown

Permission granted CharlestownCapacity not stated3.1 ha siteLodged Sep 11, 2025 Ref 2560624
Grid: CHARLESTOWN (38 kV), 4.69 km away. 2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLESTOWN.

Battery storage — Killala

Permission granted KillalaCapacity not stated2.58 ha siteLodged Jun 19, 2026 Ref 2660480
Grid: TAWNAGHMORE (110 kV), 0.09 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at TAWNAGHMORE.

Battery storage — Cloonbaul

Application submitted CloonbaulCapacity not stated1.45 ha siteLodged Aug 14, 2026 Ref 2660653
Grid: CLAREMORRIS (38 kV), 7.76 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLAREMORRIS.

Battery storage — Killala

Permission granted KillalaCapacity not stated1.23 ha siteLodged Feb 28, 2025 Ref 2560108
Grid: TAWNAGHMORE (110 kV), 0.18 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at TAWNAGHMORE.

Battery storage — Castlebar

Permission granted CastlebarCapacity not stated0.89 ha siteLodged Nov 17, 2025 Ref 2560820
Grid: CASTLEBAR (110 kV), 0.16 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLEBAR.

Wind — Beltra

Permission granted BeltraCapacity not statedLodged Nov 3, 2021 Ref 211160
Grid: RAHEEN BARR (38 kV), 6.85 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RAHEEN BARR.

Wind — Tawnaghmore

Permission granted TawnaghmoreCapacity not statedLodged Nov 22, 2022 Ref 221029
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 3.26 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Wind — Moneynierin

Permission granted MoneynierinCapacity not statedLodged Feb 8, 2023 Ref 2354
Grid: BELLACORRICK (110 kV), 1.05 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BELLACORRICK.

Solar — Claremorris

Permission granted ClaremorrisCapacity not statedLodged Jun 13, 2024 Ref 24224
Grid: DALTON (110 kV), 0.09 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLAREMORRIS.

Battery storage — Westport

Permission granted Westport4.5 MW statedLodged Dec 23, 2024 Ref 24546
Grid: WESTPORT (38 kV), 0.49 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at WESTPORT.