Renewable energy projects in County Sligo

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

30
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
12
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
29.4
MW stated
from 4 of 30 applications that state one
278.0
Hectares of site area
across 29 applications
8
Substations with no capacity
of 46 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
7 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 30 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Sligo Under appeal 1 Permission granted 11 Permission refused 2 Withdrawn 2 Permission lapsed 10 No decision recorded 4

Technologies

Technologies in the County Sligo pipeline Wind 17 Solar 8 Battery storage 5

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

7 of 30 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (23.3%). The remaining 23 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

2 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Wind — Carrownyclowan

Under appeal CarrownyclowanCapacity not stated44.08 ha siteLodged Jul 29, 2020 Ref 20251
Grid: GARVAGH (110 kV), 2.63 km away. 26.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GARVAGH.

Solar — Rathquarter Sligo

Permission granted Rathquarter SligoCapacity not stated12.76 ha siteLodged Aug 21, 2025 Ref 2560353
Grid: CRANMORE (38 kV), 0.78 km away. 7.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CRANMORE.

Wind — Carrownadargny Near Geevagh

Permission granted Carrownadargny Near GeevaghCapacity not stated11.65 ha siteLodged Sep 19, 2024 Ref 2460315
Grid: GARVAGH (110 kV), 3 km away. 26.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GARVAGH.

Wind — Rathbaun

Permission granted Rathbaun5.0 MW stated9.53 ha siteLodged Apr 1, 2021 Ref 21113
Grid: BALLYMOTE (38 kV), 2.56 km away. 0.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMOTE.

Wind — Cloonkeelaun

Permission granted CloonkeelaunCapacity not stated5.7 ha siteLodged May 11, 2022 Ref 22161
Grid: GLENREE (110 kV), 5.88 km away. 2.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLENREE.

Battery storage — Ballysumaghan Fannybrook

Permission granted Ballysumaghan FannybrookCapacity not stated5.05 ha siteLodged Aug 17, 2023 Ref 2360214
Grid: SRANANAGH (220 kV), 0.27 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SRANANAGH.

Wind — Gorteen

Permission granted Gorteen3.5 MW stated4.2 ha siteLodged Oct 24, 2023 Ref 2360288
Grid: GORTEEN (38 kV), 2.47 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for GORTEEN.

Solar — Manorhamilton Road

Permission granted Manorhamilton RoadCapacity not stated2.88 ha siteLodged Oct 1, 2025 Ref 2560405
Grid: BALLYTIVNAN (38 kV), 0.56 km away. 12.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYTIVNAN.

Wind — Iniscrone

Permission granted IniscroneCapacity not stated2.3 ha siteLodged Nov 25, 2022 Ref 22401
Grid: ENNISCRONE (38 kV), 3.73 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNISCRONE.

Battery storage — Srananagh

Permission granted SrananaghCapacity not stated2.04 ha siteLodged Feb 5, 2025 Ref 2560036
Grid: SRANANAGH (220 kV), 0.13 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SRANANAGH.

Wind — Cloonkeelaun

Permission granted CloonkeelaunCapacity not stated0.25 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2023 Ref 2360359
Grid: GLENREE (110 kV), 6.15 km away. 2.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLENREE.

Wind — Tawnadremira

Permission granted Tawnadremira0.85 MW statedLodged Aug 26, 2022 Ref 22291
Grid: GLENREE (110 kV), 14.76 km away. 2.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at GLENREE.