County Waterford
Renewable energy projects in County Waterford
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Oct 28, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
67
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
31
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
683.2
MW stated
from 10 of 67 applications that state one
2778.4
Hectares of site area
across 50 applications
30
Substations with no capacity
of 64 near these projects
2
Under appeal now
15 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 67 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Waterford
Application submitted
4
Under appeal
2
Permission granted
25
Permission refused
2
Withdrawn
5
Permission lapsed
7
No decision recorded
22
Technologies
Technologies in the County Waterford pipeline
Solar
41
Battery storage
17
Wind
16
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
30 of 67 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(44.8%). The remaining 37 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
44 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Application submitted
Broemountain Capacity not stated 437.54 ha site Lodged Jul 7, 2026
Ref ABP-324420
Grid: KILCLOHER (38 kV), 8.13 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILCLOHER.
Application submitted
Tooranaraheen Capacity not stated 427.95 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2024
Ref ABP-321522
Grid: KILCLOHER (38 kV), 8.18 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILCLOHER.
Permission granted
Ballyneal Capacity not stated 141.0 ha site Lodged Mar 10, 2023
Ref 2360089
Grid: DEERPARK (38 kV), 6.96 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at DEERPARK.
Permission granted
Dungarvan Capacity not stated 106.8 ha site Lodged Mar 9, 2026
Ref 2660139
Grid: WOODHOUSE (110 kV), 1.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for WOODHOUSE.
Application submitted
Glenhouse Capacity not stated 67.3 ha site Lodged Sep 10, 2026
Ref 2660701
Grid: CULLENAGH (220 kV), 2.17 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CULLENAGH.
Under appeal
Hacketstown Capacity not stated 43.6 ha site Lodged Sep 15, 2025
Ref 2560648
Grid: CULLENAGH (220 kV), 2.33 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CULLENAGH.
Permission granted
Dungarvan Capacity not stated 15.23 ha site Lodged Sep 8, 2023
Ref 2360416
Grid: WOODHOUSE (110 kV), 0.34 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for WOODHOUSE.
Permission granted
Tramore Capacity not stated 12.0 ha site Lodged Oct 17, 2023
Ref 2360483
Grid: TRAMORE (38 kV), 2.48 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TRAMORE.
Permission granted
Dungarvan Capacity not stated 10.87 ha site Lodged Sep 19, 2023
Ref 2360433
Grid: KILCLOHER (38 kV), 2.1 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNGARVAN.
Permission granted
Kilmacthomas Capacity not stated 10.2 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360317
Grid: KILMACTHOMAS (38 kV), 0.97 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMACTHOMAS.
Permission granted
Knockhouse Lower Waterford Capacity not stated 7.348 ha site Lodged Feb 20, 2024
Ref 2460080
Grid: KILLOTERAN (110 kV), 0.69 km away.
28.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLOTERAN.
Permission granted
Knockhouse Lower Waterford Capacity not stated 7.348 ha site Lodged Nov 28, 2024
Ref 2460721
Grid: KILLOTERAN (110 kV), 0.69 km away.
28.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLOTERAN.
Permission granted
Lahardan Capacity not stated 5.45 ha site Lodged Apr 5, 2024
Ref 2460163
Grid: CULLENAGH (220 kV), 1.01 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CULLENAGH.
Permission granted
Dungarvan Capacity not stated 5.3 ha site Lodged Aug 17, 2023
Ref 2360374
Grid: SPRINGS (38 kV), 0.53 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNGARVAN.
Permission granted
Waterford City Capacity not stated 4.24 ha site Lodged Jun 19, 2023
Ref 2360261
Grid: WATERFORD IND EST (38 kV), 1.46 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at WATERFORD IND EST.
Permission granted
Monamintra Capacity not stated 3.59 ha site Lodged Sep 11, 2024
Ref 2460522
Grid: KILCARAGH (38 kV), 0.69 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KILCARAGH.
Application submitted
Kilbarry Ballynaneashagh Capacity not stated 3.4 ha site Lodged Aug 27, 2026
Ref 2660654
Grid: WATERFORD IND EST (38 kV), 1.22 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at WATERFORD IND EST.
Under appeal
Kilmeaden Capacity not stated 2.49 ha site Lodged Dec 5, 2025
Ref 2560872
Grid: CULLENAGH (220 kV), 0.12 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMEADEN.
Permission granted
Ballymacarbry Capacity not stated 2.3 ha site Lodged May 27, 2024
Ref 2460286
Grid: SPA ROAD (38 kV), 9.27 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at SPA ROAD.
Permission granted
Kill Capacity not stated 2.15 ha site Lodged Feb 1, 2024
Ref 2460051
Grid: KILMACTHOMAS (38 kV), 7.88 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMACTHOMAS.
Permission granted
Portlaw Capacity not stated 2.0 ha site Lodged Jul 26, 2022
Ref 22669
Grid: PORTLAW (38 kV), 3.32 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at PORTLAW.
Permission granted
Dungarvan 5.0 MW stated 1.26 ha site Lodged Oct 4, 2024
Ref 2460589
Grid: DUNGARVAN (110 kV), 0.16 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNGARVAN.
Permission granted
Kilmacthomas Capacity not stated 0.31 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360316
Grid: KILMACTHOMAS (38 kV), 0.57 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMACTHOMAS.
Permission granted
Knockhouse Lower Waterford Capacity not stated 0.108 ha site Lodged Jun 6, 2025
Ref 2560399
Grid: KILLOTERAN (110 kV), 0.45 km away.
28.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLOTERAN.
Permission granted
Cork Road Waterford 1.0 MW stated 0.011 ha site Lodged Nov 22, 2024
Ref 2460705
Grid: WATERFORD IND EST (38 kV), 0.46 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at WATERFORD IND EST.
Permission granted
Ballygarron Upper Capacity not stated 0.01 ha site Lodged Aug 14, 2024
Ref 2460467
Grid: KILCARAGH (38 kV), 1.23 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KILCARAGH.
Permission granted
Dungarvan 5.0 MW stated Lodged Mar 10, 2017
Ref 17156
Grid: DUNGARVAN (110 kV), 0.27 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNGARVAN.
Permission granted
Tramore Capacity not stated Lodged Aug 31, 2017
Ref 17645
Grid: TRAMORE (38 kV), 3.51 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TRAMORE.
Permission granted
Monageela/Killatoor Capacity not stated Lodged Nov 13, 2020
Ref 20845
Grid: WOODHOUSE (110 kV), 1.41 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for WOODHOUSE.
Permission granted
Kilcoher Capacity not stated Lodged Jul 29, 2021
Ref 21735
Grid: KILCLOHER (38 kV), 4.05 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILCLOHER.
Permission granted
Dungarvan Capacity not stated Lodged May 13, 2022
Ref 22407
Grid: WOODHOUSE (110 kV), 4.49 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNGARVAN.