County Donegal
Renewable energy projects in County Donegal
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
82
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
32
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
36.2
MW stated
from 8 of 82 applications that state one
7431.0
Hectares of site area
across 77 applications
26
Substations with no capacity
of 61 near these projects
3
Under appeal now
15 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 82 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Donegal
Application submitted
1
Further information reque…
4
Under appeal
3
Permission granted
24
Permission refused
12
Withdrawn
7
Permission lapsed
15
No decision recorded
16
Technologies
Technologies in the County Donegal pipeline
Wind
59
Solar
13
Battery storage
12
Grid infrastructure
1
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
52 of 82 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(63.4%). The remaining 30 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
35 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Cashelnavean Capacity not stated 889.23 ha site Lodged Dec 15, 2017
Ref ABP-300460
Grid: GOLAGH (110 kV), 5.02 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for GOLAGH.
Permission granted
Illies Capacity not stated 784.25 ha site Lodged Feb 4, 2022
Ref ABP-312659
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 2.46 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.
Permission granted
Aughkeely Capacity not stated 608.44 ha site Lodged Nov 30, 2020
Ref ABP-308806
Grid: CARK (38 kV), 2.02 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CARK.
Permission granted
Clogher Capacity not stated 421.32 ha site Lodged Dec 24, 2019
Ref ABP-306303
Grid: GOLAGH (110 kV), 0.77 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLOGHER.
Permission granted
Townparks Ballyshannon Capacity not stated 82.66 ha site Lodged Jun 23, 2023
Ref 2350892
Grid: CLIFF (110 kV), 1.67 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYSHANNON.
Permission granted
Letterkenny Po Capacity not stated 62.74 ha site Lodged Sep 19, 2024
Ref 2461480
Grid: CARK (38 kV), 2.32 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CARK.
Application submitted
Corker More Killybegs Capacity not stated 58.25 ha site Lodged May 20, 2026
Ref 2660905
Grid: MULMOSOG (38 kV), 0.35 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MULMOSOG.
Permission granted
Lettergull Capacity not stated 38.7 ha site Lodged Feb 7, 2018
Ref 1850156
Grid: MULLASAWNY (38 kV), 0.27 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MULLASAWNY.
Permission granted
Gweedore 4.5 MW stated 31.68 ha site Lodged May 11, 2022
Ref 2250813
Grid: MOUNT CRONALAGHT (38 kV), 0.62 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at GWEEDORE.
Permission granted
Donegal Po Capacity not stated 15.05 ha site Lodged Aug 19, 2022
Ref 2251393
Grid: LOUGHDERRYDUFF (38 kV), 0.87 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LOUGHDERRYDUFF.
Further information requested
Lifford Po Capacity not stated 13.88 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2025
Ref 2562310
Grid: CONVOY (38 kV), 0.61 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CONVOY.
Permission granted
Letterkenny Po Capacity not stated 12.7 ha site Lodged Jun 15, 2026
Ref 2661093
Grid: CARK (38 kV), 11.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CARK.
Permission granted
Inishowen Capacity not stated 10.8 ha site Lodged Dec 2, 2025
Ref 2562117
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 0.61 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.
Permission granted
Lifford Po Capacity not stated 9.9 ha site Lodged May 1, 2026
Ref 2660788
Grid: MULLASAWNY (38 kV), 0.28 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MULLASAWNY.
Permission granted
Lifford Po Capacity not stated 9.67 ha site Lodged Dec 11, 2025
Ref 2562206
Grid: BALLYMACARRY (38 kV), 2.16 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYMACARRY.
Permission granted
Illies Capacity not stated 9.24 ha site Lodged Jan 21, 2025
Ref 2560056
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 3 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.
Further information requested
Raphoe Lifford Po Capacity not stated 8.94 ha site Lodged Feb 27, 2026
Ref 2660296
Grid: CONVOY (38 kV), 5.05 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CONVOY.
Permission granted
Inishowen Capacity not stated 8.81 ha site Lodged Mar 11, 2025
Ref 2560337
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 0.72 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.
Under appeal
Ballyshannon Capacity not stated 6.19 ha site Lodged Feb 22, 2024
Ref 2460197
Grid: CATHALEENS FALL (110 kV), 0.83 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYSHANNON.
Under appeal
Letterkenny Capacity not stated 6.1 ha site Lodged Apr 2, 2026
Ref 2660548
Grid: LETTERKENNY (110 kV), 0.34 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at LETTERKENNY.
Under appeal
Lifford Po Capacity not stated 5.8 ha site Lodged Sep 23, 2024
Ref 2461497
Grid: TRILLICK (110 kV), 0.43 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TRILLICK.
Permission granted
Milford Capacity not stated 5.66 ha site Lodged Sep 18, 2024
Ref 2450210
Grid: MILFORD (NR) (38 kV), 1.62 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at MILFORD (NR).
Permission granted
Donegal Po Capacity not stated 4.91 ha site Lodged Oct 7, 2025
Ref 2561746
Grid: ARDMORE (voltage not published), 6.27 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARDMORE.
Permission granted
Donegal Po 4.2 MW stated 4.9 ha site Lodged Jul 15, 2022
Ref 2251214
Grid: MEENACHULLALAN (38 kV), 1.03 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILLYBEGS.
Permission granted
Kilcar Capacity not stated 4.525 ha site Lodged Jun 24, 2021
Ref 2151263
Grid: KILCAR (38 kV), 2.2 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILCAR.
Further information requested
Buncrana Capacity not stated 4.0 ha site Lodged Mar 10, 2026
Ref 2660378
Grid: BUNCRANA (38 kV), 1.26 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BUNCRANA.
Permission granted
Letterkenny Po Capacity not stated 3.92 ha site Lodged Apr 27, 2023
Ref 2350561
Grid: GORTLEE (38 kV), 0.96 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at LETTERKENNY.
Permission granted
Straness Capacity not stated 0.82 ha site Lodged Sep 23, 2019
Ref 1951446
Grid: MULREAVY (110 kV), 0.05 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MEENADREEN[MULREAVY].
Permission granted
Inishowen Capacity not stated 0.54 ha site Lodged Jul 7, 2026
Ref 2661260
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 0.05 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.
Permission granted
Letterkenny Capacity not stated 0.2732 ha site Lodged Oct 23, 2023
Ref 2351609
Grid: CARK (38 kV), 2.66 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CARK.
Further information requested
Donegal Po Capacity not stated 0.2 ha site Lodged Jul 8, 2026
Ref 2661265
Grid: KILLYBEGS (38 kV), 2.24 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILLYBEGS.
Permission granted
Quigleys Point Capacity not stated Lodged Oct 11, 2023
Ref 2351543
Grid: CROCKAHENNY (38 kV), 2 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROCKAHENNY.