Renewable energy projects in County Wexford

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

74
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
29
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
135.0
MW stated
from 9 of 74 applications that state one
1224.5
Hectares of site area
across 58 applications
25
Substations with no capacity
of 66 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
21 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 74 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Wexford Application submitted 1 Permission granted 28 Permission refused 6 Withdrawn 1 Permission lapsed 24 No decision recorded 14

Technologies

Technologies in the County Wexford pipeline Solar 64 Battery storage 6 Wind 4

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

18 of 74 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (24.3%). The remaining 56 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

25 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Ballyoughter

Permission granted BallyoughterCapacity not stated129.0 ha siteLodged Oct 4, 2021 Ref 20211538
Grid: BANOGE (110 kV), 4.56 km away. 11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANOGE.

Solar — Ferns

Permission granted FernsCapacity not stated108.0 ha siteLodged Oct 5, 2022 Ref 20221309
Grid: LODGEWOOD (220 kV), 0.84 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CRORY.

Solar — Ferns/Ballycarney

Permission granted Ferns/BallycarneyCapacity not stated55.0 ha siteLodged Aug 30, 2023 Ref 20231025
Grid: CRORY (110 kV), 1.03 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CRORY.

Solar — Rathaspick

Permission granted RathaspickCapacity not stated38.8 ha siteLodged Nov 30, 2022 Ref 20221589
Grid: KILLINICK (38 kV), 5.72 km away. 2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLINICK.

Solar — Mayglass

Permission granted MayglassCapacity not stated32.72 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2018 Ref 20181768
Grid: RICHFIELD (38 kV), 6.45 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RICHFIELD.

Solar — Aughwilliam

Permission granted AughwilliamCapacity not stated32.15 ha siteLodged Aug 22, 2025 Ref 20251044
Grid: BARNTOWN (38 kV), 6.52 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BARNTOWN.

Solar — Courtown

Permission granted CourtownCapacity not stated28.52 ha siteLodged Jan 30, 2017 Ref 20170077
Grid: BANOGE (110 kV), 0.4 km away. 11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANOGE.

Wind — Cahore

Permission granted CahoreCapacity not stated16.12 ha siteLodged Nov 8, 2024 Ref 20241390
Grid: BANOGE (110 kV), 12.62 km away. 11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANOGE.

Solar — Drinagh

Permission granted DrinaghCapacity not stated14.3 ha siteLodged Sep 28, 2023 Ref 20231164
Grid: MULGANNON (38 kV), 1.88 km away. 14.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULGANNON.

Solar — Bree

Permission granted Bree5.0 MW stated13.17 ha siteLodged Feb 9, 2017 Ref 20170132
Grid: MONFIN (38 kV), 1.84 km away. 2 MW of firm generation capacity available at MONFIN.

Solar — Dennistown

Permission granted DennistownCapacity not stated9.59 ha siteLodged Apr 1, 2022 Ref ABP-313191
Grid: BARNTOWN (38 kV), 3.56 km away. 22 MW of firm generation capacity available at WEXFORD.

Battery storage — Ferns

Permission granted FernsCapacity not stated9.47 ha siteLodged Dec 13, 2024 Ref 20241558
Grid: CRORY (110 kV), 0.38 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LODGEWOOD.

Solar — Kilcowan

Permission granted KilcowanCapacity not stated8.9 ha siteLodged Nov 23, 2022 Ref 20221551
Grid: RICHFIELD (38 kV), 2.41 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RICHFIELD.

Wind — Ballindaggan/ Castledockrell

Permission granted Ballindaggan/ CastledockrellCapacity not stated8.3 ha siteLodged Mar 19, 2025 Ref 20250312
Grid: LODGEWOOD (220 kV), 7.2 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LODGEWOOD.

Solar — Clongeen

Permission granted ClongeenCapacity not stated8.06 ha siteLodged Oct 11, 2018 Ref ABP-302731
Grid: BEALISTOWN (38 kV), 9.04 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BEALISTOWN.

Solar — Ferns

Permission granted FernsCapacity not stated7.63 ha siteLodged Apr 8, 2024 Ref ABP-319499
Grid: CRANE (110 kV), 1.46 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at FERNS.

Battery storage — Ferns

Permission granted FernsCapacity not stated5.4 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2024 Ref 20241593
Grid: CRORY (110 kV), 0.26 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at CRORY.

Solar — Camolin

Permission granted CamolinCapacity not stated4.86 ha siteLodged Oct 25, 2019 Ref ABP-305803
Grid: RAMSTOWN (38 kV), 8.15 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at RAMSTOWN.

Solar — Moyacomb

Application submitted MoyacombCapacity not stated4.49 ha siteLodged Apr 28, 2026 Ref 20260518
Grid: BUNCLODY (38 kV), 5.15 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BUNCLODY.

Solar — Killoughrum

Permission granted KilloughrumCapacity not stated4.0 ha siteLodged Mar 24, 2022 Ref 20220383
Grid: BELLFIELD (38 kV), 2.69 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BELLFIELD.

Solar — Ballynestragh

Permission granted BallynestraghCapacity not stated3.13 ha siteLodged Jul 21, 2021 Ref 20211164
Grid: GARDEN CITY (38 kV), 4.2 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at GARDEN CITY.

Solar — Ardamine

Permission granted ArdamineCapacity not stated3.01 ha siteLodged Apr 23, 2018 Ref 20180526
Grid: BANOGE (110 kV), 1.69 km away. 11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANOGE.

Solar — Gorey Rural

Permission granted Gorey RuralCapacity not stated2.5 ha siteLodged Oct 28, 2022 Ref 20221442
Grid: RAMSTOWN (38 kV), 0.96 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at RAMSTOWN.

Battery storage — New Ross Rural

Permission granted New Ross RuralCapacity not stated1.8 ha siteLodged Jun 11, 2024 Ref 20240650
Grid: NEW ROSS (38 kV), 2.55 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NEW ROSS.

Battery storage — Drinagh

Permission granted DrinaghCapacity not stated0.15 ha siteLodged Jun 23, 2025 Ref 20250770
Grid: MULGANNON (38 kV), 1.66 km away. 14.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULGANNON.

Solar — Tomhaggard

Permission granted TomhaggardCapacity not statedLodged Jun 17, 2016 Ref 20160690
Grid: KILLINICK (38 kV), 3.74 km away. 2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILLINICK.

Solar — Newtownbarry

Permission granted NewtownbarryCapacity not statedLodged Apr 21, 2017 Ref 20170495
Grid: BUNCLODY (38 kV), 0.46 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BUNCLODY.

Solar — Forth

Permission granted ForthCapacity not statedLodged Jan 8, 2018 Ref 20180012
Grid: BARNTOWN (38 kV), 4.22 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BARNTOWN.

Solar — Ballyoughter

Permission granted BallyoughterCapacity not statedLodged Feb 26, 2021 Ref 20210271
Grid: RAMSTOWN (38 kV), 8.02 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at RAMSTOWN.