County Wicklow
Renewable energy projects in County Wicklow
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
61
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
36
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
16.0
MW stated
from 2 of 61 applications that state one
1980.6
Hectares of site area
across 60 applications
19
Substations with no capacity
of 213 near these projects
3
Under appeal now
14 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 61 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Wicklow
Application submitted
1
Under appeal
3
Permission granted
32
Permission refused
4
Withdrawn
2
Permission lapsed
9
No decision recorded
10
Technologies
Technologies in the County Wicklow pipeline
Solar
48
Battery storage
11
Wind
8
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
42 of 61 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(68.9%). The remaining 19 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
12 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Kilnamanagh Beg Ballynagran Capacity not stated 203.5 ha site Lodged Sep 25, 2025
Ref 2560764
Grid: BALLYBEG (110 kV), 4.96 km away.
3.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYBEG.
Permission granted
Preban Ballinglen Askakeagh Capacity not stated 111.2 ha site Lodged Jul 5, 2017
Ref 17814
Grid: MANGANS (38 kV), 7.52 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MANGANS.
Under appeal
Mullycagh Upper Capacity not stated 65.4 ha site Lodged Apr 4, 2025
Ref 2560247
Grid: DUNLAVIN (38 kV), 6.3 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNLAVIN.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 58.9 ha site Lodged Dec 5, 2017
Ref 171440
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 2.07 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Johnstown North Capacity not stated 36.4 ha site Lodged Jul 27, 2023
Ref 2360185
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 2.84 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 32.0 ha site Lodged Sep 15, 2021
Ref 211131
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 2.75 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Blessington Capacity not stated 28.0 ha site Lodged May 8, 2024
Ref 2460257
Grid: BLESSINGTON (38 kV), 2.26 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BLESSINGTON.
Under appeal
Arklow Capacity not stated 27.2 ha site Lodged May 15, 2025
Ref 2560361
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 1.84 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 24.19 ha site Lodged Jan 25, 2023
Ref 2362
Grid: TINAHASK (38 kV), 1.32 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 24.19 ha site Lodged Feb 27, 2024
Ref 2488
Grid: TINAHASK (38 kV), 1.3 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Blessington 15.0 MW stated 21.04 ha site Lodged Oct 14, 2021
Ref 211237
Grid: BLESSINGTON (38 kV), 2.28 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BLESSINGTON.
Application submitted
Garnagowlan Capacity not stated 20.27 ha site Lodged Aug 25, 2026
Ref 2660755
Grid: MANGANS (38 kV), 7.57 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MANGANS.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 18.95 ha site Lodged Apr 24, 2025
Ref 2560313
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 1.33 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 14.4 ha site Lodged Aug 1, 2025
Ref 2560594
Grid: SHELTON ABBEY (110 kV), 0.51 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Avoca Capacity not stated 13.76 ha site Lodged Mar 20, 2026
Ref 2660
Grid: KILMAGIG (38 kV), 1.37 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for AVOCA.
Permission granted
Ballycumber South Capacity not stated 11.53 ha site Lodged Jun 5, 2026
Ref 2660498
Grid: MANGANS (38 kV), 1.11 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MANGANS.
Permission granted
Newtownmountkennedy Capacity not stated 8.339 ha site Lodged Jan 3, 2023
Ref 231
Grid: KILMARTIN (38 kV), 2.19 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILMARTIN.
Permission granted
Carnew Capacity not stated 6.396 ha site Lodged May 31, 2023
Ref 2360079
Grid: SHILLELAGH (38 kV), 5.12 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at SHILLELAGH.
Permission granted
Kilcoole Capacity not stated 4.88 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2022
Ref 22807
Grid: KILCOOLE (38 kV), 0.42 km away.
10.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILCOOLE.
Permission granted
Shillelagh Capacity not stated 4.62 ha site Lodged Feb 23, 2024
Ref 2460106
Grid: SHILLELAGH (38 kV), 3.59 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at SHILLELAGH.
Under appeal
Arklow Capacity not stated 4.02 ha site Lodged Apr 3, 2025
Ref 2560244
Grid: TINAHASK (38 kV), 1.92 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Kilruddery Bray Capacity not stated 3.71 ha site Lodged Aug 8, 2023
Ref 2360205
Grid: BOGHALL ROAD (38 kV), 0.54 km away.
11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BRAY.
Permission granted
Dunlavin Capacity not stated 3.66 ha site Lodged Mar 21, 2023
Ref 23277
Grid: DUNLAVIN (38 kV), 1.21 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNLAVIN.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 3.56 ha site Lodged Mar 7, 2022
Ref ABP-312936
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 0.81 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 3.36 ha site Lodged Jul 21, 2023
Ref 2360167
Grid: TINAHASK (38 kV), 1.06 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Newtownsaunders Baltinglass Capacity not stated 3.1 ha site Lodged Jul 1, 2024
Ref 2460388
Grid: BALTINGLASS (38 kV), 1.02 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALTINGLASS.
Permission granted
Bray Capacity not stated 3.045 ha site Lodged Jan 10, 2022
Ref 2210
Grid: BOGHALL ROAD (38 kV), 0.39 km away.
11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BRAY.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 3.01 ha site Lodged May 9, 2025
Ref 2560350
Grid: TINAHASK (38 kV), 1.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 2.6 ha site Lodged Jul 14, 2023
Ref 2360151
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 2.66 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 2.46 ha site Lodged May 4, 2023
Ref 2360032
Grid: COOLGREANEY ROAD (38 kV), 0.08 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for COOLGREANEY ROAD.
Permission granted
Rathdrum Capacity not stated 2.38 ha site Lodged Apr 27, 2023
Ref 2360018
Grid: RATHDRUM (38 kV), 1.55 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at RATHDRUM.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 2.3 ha site Lodged Nov 2, 2021
Ref 211316
Grid: ARKLOW BANKS (38 kV), 0.34 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ARKLOW BANKS.
Permission granted
Baltinglass 1.0 MW stated 1.65 ha site Lodged Oct 11, 2024
Ref 2460627
Grid: STRATFORD (110 kV), 4.33 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALTINGLASS.
Permission granted
Bray Capacity not stated 0.975 ha site Lodged May 30, 2023
Ref 2360076
Grid: BOGHALL ROAD (38 kV), 0.53 km away.
11.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at BRAY.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 0.48 ha site Lodged Jul 2, 2024
Ref 2460393
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 1.22 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.
Permission granted
Arklow Capacity not stated 0.17 ha site Lodged Aug 26, 2025
Ref 2560663
Grid: ARKLOW (220 kV), 0.67 km away.
10.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARKLOW.