County Clare
Renewable energy projects in County Clare
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
74
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
47
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
224.6
MW stated
from 12 of 74 applications that state one
4021.5
Hectares of site area
across 45 applications
12
Substations with no capacity
of 92 near these projects
7
Under appeal now
17 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 74 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Clare
Application submitted
5
Under appeal
7
Permission granted
35
Permission refused
3
Withdrawn
5
Permission lapsed
13
No decision recorded
6
Technologies
Technologies in the County Clare pipeline
Solar
35
Wind
33
Battery storage
15
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
38 of 74 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(51.4%). The remaining 36 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
2 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Drummod Capacity not stated 746.57 ha site Lodged Nov 30, 2020
Ref ABP-308799
Grid: SCARIFF (38 kV), 7.2 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at SCARIFF.
Application submitted
Knockalassa Capacity not stated 584.32 ha site Lodged May 5, 2026
Ref ABP-324270
Grid: SLIEVECALLAN (110 kV), 3.49 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SLIEVECALLAN.
Application submitted
Ballyduneen Capacity not stated 365.47 ha site Lodged Sep 30, 2025
Ref ABP-323783
Grid: CRANNY (38 kV), 3.66 km away.
1.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CRANNY.
Permission granted
Ennis Capacity not stated 126.0 ha site Lodged Jul 16, 2021
Ref 21756
Grid: CAHIRCALLA (38 kV), 0.17 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS NORTH.
Permission granted
Ennis Capacity not stated 115.2 ha site Lodged Feb 8, 2023
Ref 2360020
Grid: CAHIRCALLA (38 kV), 2.79 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS NORTH.
Under appeal
Ardkyle 60.0 MW stated 98.0 ha site Lodged Sep 11, 2025
Ref 2560560
Grid: DRUMLINE (110 kV), 1.64 km away.
29.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRUMLINE.
Under appeal
Ardnacrusha Capacity not stated 96.0 ha site Lodged Oct 4, 2024
Ref 2460485
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 4.47 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Application submitted
Newmarket-On-Fergus Capacity not stated 95.0 ha site Lodged Jul 1, 2026
Ref 2660423
Grid: DRUMLINE (110 kV), 2.09 km away.
29.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRUMLINE.
Permission granted
Ballykeelaun Capacity not stated 70.0 ha site Lodged Jul 13, 2023
Ref 2360249
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 1.32 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Permission granted
Ballymoloney Capacity not stated 52.4 ha site Lodged Aug 29, 2024
Ref 2460411
Grid: BIRDHILL (38 kV), 8.67 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BIRDHILL.
Under appeal
Lackamore Capacity not stated 37.6 ha site Lodged Aug 27, 2025
Ref 2560520
Grid: SLIEVECALLAN (110 kV), 6.49 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SLIEVECALLAN.
Under appeal
Kilrush 15.0 MW stated 36.76 ha site Lodged May 8, 2025
Ref 2560257
Grid: MOANMORE (38 kV), 1.83 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MOANMORE.
Permission granted
Ardnacrusha Capacity not stated 36.7 ha site Lodged Aug 30, 2024
Ref 2460416
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 0.85 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Application submitted
Area Capacity not stated 35.9 ha site Lodged Aug 17, 2026
Ref 2660530
Grid: MONEYPOINT (400 kV), 0.33 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MONEYPOINT.
Permission granted
Spancil Hill Capacity not stated 31.18 ha site Lodged Mar 15, 2019
Ref 19194
Grid: ENNIS (110 kV), 4.42 km away.
15.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS.
Permission granted
Kilrush Capacity not stated 31.13 ha site Lodged Mar 29, 2024
Ref 2460143
Grid: TULLABRACK (110 kV), 1.9 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TULLABRACK.
Under appeal
Lackamore Capacity not stated 23.07 ha site Lodged Mar 31, 2026
Ref 2660207
Grid: SLIEVECALLAN (110 kV), 6.69 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SLIEVECALLAN.
Permission granted
Ballykeelaun Capacity not stated 22.48 ha site Lodged Nov 20, 2023
Ref ABP-318505
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 7.81 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Permission granted
Newmarket-On-Fergus Capacity not stated 10.52 ha site Lodged Nov 19, 2024
Ref 2460574
Grid: DRUMLINE (110 kV), 5.38 km away.
29.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRUMLINE.
Permission granted
Cratloe Capacity not stated 9.4 ha site Lodged May 26, 2017
Ref 17411
Grid: CRATLOE (38 kV), 1.02 km away.
4.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CRATLOE.
Permission granted
Shannon 1.2 MW stated 6.875 ha site Lodged Jun 7, 2024
Ref 2460273
Grid: SHANNON (38 kV), 1.09 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Ballygeery West Capacity not stated 6.2 ha site Lodged Sep 22, 2023
Ref 2360393
Grid: PROSPECT (220 kV), 0.12 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for PROSPECT.
Permission granted
Glenlon South Capacity not stated 5.52 ha site Lodged Sep 16, 2025
Ref 2560563
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 0.8 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Permission granted
Shannon Capacity not stated 4.384 ha site Lodged Jan 29, 2026
Ref 2660039
Grid: SHANNON (38 kV), 0.71 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Shannon Capacity not stated 3.85 ha site Lodged Mar 6, 2025
Ref 2560104
Grid: RINEANNA (38 kV), 0.71 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Shannon Capacity not stated 3.67 ha site Lodged Mar 28, 2024
Ref 2460141
Grid: DRUMLINE (110 kV), 0.41 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Under appeal
Bridgetown Capacity not stated 3.58 ha site Lodged Dec 12, 2025
Ref 2560794
Grid: ARDNACRUSHA (110 kV), 8.11 km away.
35 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARDNACRUSHA.
Permission granted
Newmarket-On-Fergus 20.0 MW stated 3.5 ha site Lodged Sep 30, 2020
Ref 20705
Grid: SHANNON (38 kV), 1.66 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Shannon Capacity not stated 3.34 ha site Lodged Apr 28, 2025
Ref 2560218
Grid: RINEANNA (38 kV), 0.27 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Coolshamroge 50.0 MW stated 2.97 ha site Lodged Dec 1, 2025
Ref 2560747
Grid: CLARECASTLE (38 kV), 4.69 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLARECASTLE.
Permission granted
Baunkyle Corofin Capacity not stated 2.34 ha site Lodged Apr 10, 2024
Ref 2460156
Grid: ENNIS NORTH (38 kV), 11.34 km away.
2.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS NORTH.
Permission granted
Shannon Capacity not stated 2.29 ha site Lodged Feb 14, 2025
Ref 2560064
Grid: RINEANNA (38 kV), 0.24 km away.
14.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHANNON.
Permission granted
Ennis Capacity not stated 1.42 ha site Lodged Oct 31, 2025
Ref 2560670
Grid: BOOLTIAGH (110 kV), 0.1 km away.
2.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BOOLTIAGH.
Permission granted
Sixmilebridge Capacity not stated Lodged Jan 23, 2017
Ref 1731
Grid: DRUMLINE (110 kV), 1.05 km away.
29.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRUMLINE.
Permission granted
Caherteige Capacity not stated Lodged Jul 18, 2018
Ref 18585
Grid: RINEANNA (38 kV), 1.56 km away.
13.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at RINEANNA.
Permission granted
Spancil Hill Capacity not stated Lodged Mar 13, 2019
Ref 19180
Grid: ENNIS (110 kV), 2.64 km away.
15.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS.
Under appeal
Booltiagh Capacity not stated Lodged Sep 18, 2020
Ref 20658
Grid: GREYGROVE (38 kV), 5.03 km away.
2.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BOOLTIAGH.
Permission granted
Boolynaknockaun Glenmore Booltiagh Capacity not stated Lodged Oct 6, 2021
Ref 211057
Grid: CRANNY (38 kV), 3.07 km away.
2.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at BOOLTIAGH.
Permission granted
Ennis Capacity not stated Lodged Aug 27, 2021
Ref 21915
Grid: CLARECASTLE (38 kV), 1.58 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLARECASTLE.
Permission granted
Ennis Capacity not stated Lodged Jul 1, 2022
Ref 22586
Grid: CLARECASTLE (38 kV), 4.42 km away.
15.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at ENNIS.