County Kerry
Renewable energy projects in County Kerry
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
76
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
44
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
661.0
MW stated
from 6 of 76 applications that state one
6339.2
Hectares of site area
across 71 applications
18
Substations with no capacity
of 117 near these projects
4
Under appeal now
15 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 76 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Kerry
Application submitted
6
Under appeal
4
Permission granted
34
Permission refused
4
Withdrawn
3
Permission lapsed
19
No decision recorded
6
Technologies
Technologies in the County Kerry pipeline
Solar
38
Wind
27
Battery storage
17
Grid infrastructure
1
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
29 of 76 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(38.2%). The remaining 47 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
8 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Cloonkeen Capacity not stated 1443.61 ha site Lodged Sep 7, 2015
Ref ABP-PA0044
Grid: COOMATAGGERT (110 kV), 1.54 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for COOMATAGGERT.
Application submitted
Cummeenavrick Capacity not stated 725.84 ha site Lodged Oct 10, 2024
Ref ABP-321029
Grid: GARROW (110 kV), 2.71 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at GARROW.
Permission granted
Cloonkeen Capacity not stated 605.87 ha site Lodged May 16, 2024
Ref ABP-319741
Grid: COOLEA (38 kV), 1.23 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLONKEEN.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 362.52 ha site Lodged Jan 14, 2021
Ref ABP-309156
Grid: DROMBEG (110 kV), 2.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DROMBEG.
Application submitted
Middle Capacity not stated 272.0 ha site Lodged Aug 14, 2026
Ref 2660763
Grid: BLANE (38 kV), 6.42 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BLANE.
Application submitted
Middle Capacity not stated 175.3 ha site Lodged Aug 14, 2026
Ref 2660764
Grid: KILPADDOGE (220 kV), 3.96 km away.
1.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILPADDOGE.
Application submitted
Knocknagun Capacity not stated 152.6 ha site Lodged Sep 26, 2025
Ref 2560875
Grid: KILFLYNN (38 kV), 1.86 km away.
2.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILFLYNN.
Permission granted
Dromalivaun Capacity not stated 146.6 ha site Lodged Mar 16, 2023
Ref 23284
Grid: DROMBEG (110 kV), 4.71 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DROMBEG.
Under appeal
Knockatee Capacity not stated 123.2 ha site Lodged Sep 2, 2025
Ref 2560771
Grid: CORDAL (110 kV), 2.62 km away.
2.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at CORDAL.
Under appeal
Listowel Capacity not stated 119.3 ha site Lodged Aug 6, 2025
Ref 2560684
Grid: DROMBEG (110 kV), 3.38 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DROMBEG.
Under appeal
Pallas Capacity not stated 90.0 ha site Lodged Dec 14, 2021
Ref 211441
Grid: CAUSEWAY (38 kV), 7.44 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLAHANE.
Permission granted
Listowel Capacity not stated 84.0 ha site Lodged Apr 28, 2021
Ref 21457
Grid: DROMBEG (110 kV), 4.84 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DROMBEG.
Under appeal
Milltown Capacity not stated 57.0 ha site Lodged Sep 22, 2025
Ref 2560856
Grid: OUGHTRAGH (110 kV), 2.17 km away.
11.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at OUGHTRAGH.
Application submitted
Ballylongford Capacity not stated 51.38 ha site Lodged May 20, 2025
Ref ABP-322568
Grid: MONEYPOINT (400 kV), 3.51 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MONEYPOINT.
Permission granted
Gurteenavallig 600.0 MW stated 40.78 ha site Lodged Apr 19, 2024
Ref ABP-319566
Grid: MONEYPOINT (400 kV), 3.67 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TARBERT.
Permission granted
Duagh Capacity not stated 22.35 ha site Lodged Nov 3, 2017
Ref 171098
Grid: TRIEN (110 kV), 1.43 km away.
13.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TRIEN.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 15.69 ha site Lodged Jul 20, 2023
Ref 2360050
Grid: DROMBEG (110 kV), 2.7 km away.
1.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILPADDOGE.
Permission granted
Ballybunion Capacity not stated 14.16 ha site Lodged Jan 18, 2018
Ref 1825
Grid: BALLYBUNION (38 kV), 6.89 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYBUNION.
Permission granted
Killarney Capacity not stated 13.3 ha site Lodged Nov 27, 2017
Ref 171183
Grid: COOLCORCORAN (38 kV), 1.37 km away.
7.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at COOLCORCORAN.
Permission granted
Gortdromasillahy Gortdromagownagh Toberatooreen Capacity not stated 13.01 ha site Lodged Dec 21, 2017
Ref 171298
Grid: GORTNAGROSS (38 kV), 3.52 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ATHEA.
Permission granted
Plan Capacity not stated 10.97 ha site Lodged May 12, 2025
Ref 25115
Grid: TARBERT (220 kV), 0.82 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TARBERT.
Permission granted
Killorglin Capacity not stated 10.3 ha site Lodged Feb 6, 2017
Ref 1783
Grid: OUGHTRAGH (110 kV), 3.33 km away.
11.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at OUGHTRAGH.
Permission granted
Killarney Capacity not stated 10.19 ha site Lodged Dec 22, 2017
Ref 171305
Grid: OUGHTRAGH (110 kV), 0.6 km away.
6.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MILLTOWN (SR).
Permission granted
Castleisland Capacity not stated 8.66 ha site Lodged Jan 6, 2023
Ref 236
Grid: CASTLEISLAND (38 kV), 0.44 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLEISLAND.
Permission granted
Gneeveguilla Capacity not stated 6.6 ha site Lodged Oct 6, 2022
Ref 221058
Grid: LACKA (38 kV), 4.25 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LACKA.
Permission granted
Listowel Capacity not stated 6.32 ha site Lodged Apr 2, 2025
Ref 2560249
Grid: KNOCKANURE (220 kV), 0.43 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKANURE.
Permission granted
Railway Road Kenmare Capacity not stated 5.8 ha site Lodged Mar 5, 2024
Ref 2460128
Grid: KENMARE (38 kV), 0.99 km away.
4.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KENMARE.
Permission granted
Farranfore Killarney Capacity not stated 5.291 ha site Lodged Dec 21, 2023
Ref 2360448
Grid: CASTLEISLAND (38 kV), 6.9 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLEISLAND.
Permission granted
Killarney Capacity not stated 5.08 ha site Lodged Jul 25, 2022
Ref 22791
Grid: WOODFORD (38 kV), 1.68 km away.
7.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at WOODFORD.
Permission granted
Causeway 2.0 MW stated 4.51 ha site Lodged Apr 6, 2022
Ref 22372
Grid: CAUSEWAY (38 kV), 0.22 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUSEWAY.
Permission granted
Killorglin 2.35 MW stated 3.36 ha site Lodged Sep 18, 2024
Ref 2460704
Grid: MILLTOWN (SR) (38 kV), 5.2 km away.
6.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MILLTOWN (SR).
Permission granted
Lixnaw Capacity not stated 3.33 ha site Lodged Mar 14, 2023
Ref 23269
Grid: CLAHANE (110 kV), 5.05 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLAHANE.
Permission granted
Tralee Capacity not stated 3.25 ha site Lodged May 20, 2025
Ref 25123
Grid: BALLYBEGGAN (38 kV), 0.31 km away.
10.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at TRALEE.
Application submitted
Killarney Capacity not stated 3.25 ha site Lodged Aug 11, 2026
Ref 2660744
Grid: COOLCORCORAN (38 kV), 8.71 km away.
7.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at COOLCORCORAN.
Permission granted
Listowel Capacity not stated 2.84 ha site Lodged Jun 8, 2021
Ref 21624
Grid: TRIEN (110 kV), 0.03 km away.
13.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at TRIEN.
Permission granted
Tralee Capacity not stated 2.668 ha site Lodged Feb 10, 2025
Ref 2560070
Grid: BALLYBEGGAN (38 kV), 7.83 km away.
10.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at TRALEE.
Permission granted
Cloonkeen Capacity not stated 2.52 ha site Lodged Jun 6, 2023
Ref 23646
Grid: CLONKEEN (110 kV), 3.33 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLONKEEN.
Permission granted
Castleisland Capacity not stated 2.37 ha site Lodged Sep 9, 2022
Ref 22950
Grid: CASTLEISLAND (38 kV), 1.9 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLEISLAND.
Permission granted
Tarbert Capacity not stated 2.278 ha site Lodged Apr 27, 2018
Ref 18392
Grid: TARBERT (220 kV), 0.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TARBERT.
Permission granted
Killorglin 1.6 MW stated 2.26 ha site Lodged Dec 18, 2023
Ref 2360423
Grid: MILLTOWN (SR) (38 kV), 5.22 km away.
6.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MILLTOWN (SR).