Renewable energy projects in County Louth

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

38
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
22
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
23.0
MW stated
from 6 of 38 applications that state one
6373.3
Hectares of site area
across 37 applications
19
Substations with no capacity
of 54 near these projects
4
Under appeal now
8 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 38 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in County Louth Further information reque… 2 Under appeal 4 Permission granted 16 Permission refused 4 Permission lapsed 5 No decision recorded 7

Technologies

Technologies in the County Louth pipeline Solar 31 Battery storage 14 Wind 4

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

20 of 38 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (52.6%). The remaining 18 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

18 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Battery storage + Solar — Knockdinnin

Under appeal KnockdinninCapacity not stated167.0 ha siteLodged Apr 17, 2025 Ref 2560223
Grid: DUNLEER (38 kV), 2.73 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at DUNLEER.

Battery storage + Solar — Castlebellingham

Under appeal CastlebellinghamCapacity not stated108.6 ha siteLodged Dec 19, 2024 Ref 2460805
Grid: BALLYBAILIE (38 kV), 4.74 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BALLYBAILIE.

Battery storage + Solar — Coolfore

Under appeal CoolforeCapacity not stated92.3 ha siteLodged May 15, 2024 Ref 2460278
Grid: BALLYMAKENNY (38 kV), 3.51 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BALLYMAKENNY.

Battery storage + Wind — Tullyeskar

Under appeal TullyeskarCapacity not stated83.3 ha siteLodged Dec 4, 2024 Ref 2460766
Grid: BALLYMAKENNY (38 kV), 4.99 km away. 16.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRYBRIDGE.

Solar — Hoarstone

Permission granted HoarstoneCapacity not stated81.37 ha siteLodged Jul 1, 2022 Ref 22534
Grid: LOUTH (220 kV), 1.71 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LOUTH.

Solar — Dundalk

Permission granted DundalkCapacity not stated62.8 ha siteLodged Mar 16, 2020 Ref 20187
Grid: LITTLE MILLS (38 kV), 1.94 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Battery storage + Solar — Monvallet

Permission granted MonvalletCapacity not stated42.23 ha siteLodged May 24, 2021 Ref 21631
Grid: LOUTH (220 kV), 0.63 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LOUTH.

Battery storage + Solar — Monvallet

Permission granted MonvalletCapacity not stated41.6 ha siteLodged Dec 13, 2021 Ref 211478
Grid: LOUTH (220 kV), 0.67 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LOUTH.

Battery storage + Solar — Readypenny Dundalk

Permission granted Readypenny DundalkCapacity not stated14.28 ha siteLodged Aug 26, 2024 Ref 2460485
Grid: MULLAGHARLIN (110 kV), 5.8 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Solar — Wilville

Permission granted WilvilleCapacity not stated10.0 ha siteLodged May 12, 2021 Ref 21569
Grid: BUSH (38 kV), 3.41 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at BUSH.

Solar — Drogheda

Permission granted Drogheda4.0 MW stated8.91 ha siteLodged Oct 9, 2017 Ref 17759
Grid: NEWTOWNSTALABAN (38 kV), 2.18 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NEWTOWNSTALABAN.

Solar — Haynestown

Permission granted HaynestownCapacity not stated7.888 ha siteLodged Apr 19, 2024 Ref 2460213
Grid: MULLAGHARLIN (110 kV), 1.16 km away. 27.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLAGHARLIN.

Battery storage + Solar — Armagh Road

Permission granted Armagh RoadCapacity not stated6.39 ha siteLodged Jul 25, 2025 Ref 2560483
Grid: DUNDALK (110 kV), 2.32 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Solar — Knockbridge

Permission granted KnockbridgeCapacity not stated4.8 ha siteLodged Feb 7, 2024 Ref 2460066
Grid: LITTLE MILLS (38 kV), 2.27 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LITTLE MILLS.

Solar — Knockbridge

Further information requested KnockbridgeCapacity not stated4.67 ha siteLodged Jun 3, 2026 Ref 2660349
Grid: LITTLE MILLS (38 kV), 3.1 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at LITTLE MILLS.

Battery storage — Drogheda

Further information requested DroghedaCapacity not stated4.3 ha siteLodged Dec 11, 2025 Ref 2560804
Grid: DRYBRIDGE (110 kV), 0.63 km away. 16.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRYBRIDGE.

Solar — Ravensdale Dundalk

Permission granted Ravensdale DundalkCapacity not stated3.82 ha siteLodged Jul 9, 2026 Ref 2689
Grid: JENKINSTOWN (38 kV), 4.96 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Solar — Moneymore Drogheda

Permission granted Moneymore DroghedaCapacity not stated3.612 ha siteLodged Jan 22, 2025 Ref 2560030
Grid: MORNINGTON ROAD (38 kV), 1.48 km away. 11.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at MORNINGTON ROAD.

Battery storage — Dublin Road Dundalk

Permission granted Dublin Road DundalkCapacity not stated2.64 ha siteLodged May 28, 2026 Ref 2660338
Grid: MARSHES (38 kV), 0.36 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Solar — Dundalk

Permission granted DundalkCapacity not stated2.04 ha siteLodged Jun 3, 2022 Ref 22453
Grid: LITTLE MILLS (38 kV), 1.82 km away. No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNDALK.

Wind — Mullagharlin Dundalk

Permission granted Mullagharlin Dundalk3.0 MW stated1.16 ha siteLodged Sep 15, 2023 Ref 2360356
Grid: MULLAGHARLIN (110 kV), 0.68 km away. 27.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MULLAGHARLIN.

Solar — Dunleer

Permission granted Dunleer4.0 MW statedLodged Dec 18, 2023 Ref 23483
Grid: DUNLEER (38 kV), 0.66 km away. 0.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at DUNLEER.