County Meath
Renewable energy projects in County Meath
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
161
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
96
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
368.2
MW stated
from 19 of 161 applications that state one
9130.3
Hectares of site area
across 157 applications
25
Substations with no capacity
of 255 near these projects
3
Under appeal now
34 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 161 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Meath
Application submitted
3
Further information reque…
2
Under appeal
3
Permission granted
88
Permission refused
7
Withdrawn
5
Permission lapsed
15
No decision recorded
38
Technologies
Technologies in the County Meath pipeline
Solar
142
Battery storage
30
Wind
4
Grid infrastructure
1
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
80 of 161 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(49.7%). The remaining 81 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
31 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Kilbride Capacity not stated 265.8 ha site Lodged May 4, 2021
Ref 21837
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 3.16 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Kinoristown Capacity not stated 215.0 ha site Lodged Sep 13, 2024
Ref 2460742
Grid: CLONEE (220 kV), 3.23 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CLONEE.
Permission granted
Summerhill Capacity not stated 206.0 ha site Lodged Nov 22, 2021
Ref 212214
Grid: CLARKSTOWN (38 kV), 3.83 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARKSTOWN.
Permission granted
Kilcock Capacity not stated 205.1 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2023
Ref 231144
Grid: KILCOCK (38 kV), 3.87 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILCOCK.
Permission granted
Duleek Capacity not stated 188.9 ha site Lodged Jun 1, 2023
Ref 23576
Grid: DULEEK (38 kV), 4.88 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DULEEK.
Permission granted
Drumree Capacity not stated 171.3 ha site Lodged Nov 18, 2022
Ref 221508
Grid: PORTAN (400 kV), 1.76 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for PORTAN.
Under appeal
Corballis Capacity not stated 149.0 ha site Lodged Sep 24, 2025
Ref 2561010
Grid: GORMAN (220 kV), 2.94 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for GORMAN.
Further information requested
Kells Capacity not stated 137.0 ha site Lodged Mar 5, 2026
Ref 2660267
Grid: KELLS (38 kV), 3.34 km away.
5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at KELLS.
Permission granted
Navan Capacity not stated 131.9 ha site Lodged Nov 27, 2023
Ref 231082
Grid: SLANE (38 kV), 7.17 km away.
30.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAVAN.
Permission granted
Duleek Capacity not stated 131.3 ha site Lodged Mar 1, 2022
Ref 22262
Grid: DULEEK (38 kV), 1.7 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DULEEK.
Permission granted
Dunboyne Capacity not stated 129.5 ha site Lodged Aug 9, 2023
Ref 23787
Grid: PORTAN (400 kV), 3.58 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for PORTAN.
Permission granted
Dunboyne Capacity not stated 129.0 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2017
Ref RA170873
Grid: PORTAN (400 kV), 3.62 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for PORTAN.
Permission granted
Kells Capacity not stated 121.5 ha site Lodged Mar 2, 2021
Ref 21396
Grid: GARISTOWN (38 kV), 2.33 km away.
5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at KELLS.
Permission granted
Galboystown Capacity not stated 115.33 ha site Lodged Apr 2, 2024
Ref ABP-319448
Grid: DELVIN (38 kV), 5.83 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DELVIN.
Permission granted
Summerhill Capacity not stated 108.6 ha site Lodged May 25, 2021
Ref 21985
Grid: CLARKSTOWN (38 kV), 4.73 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARKSTOWN.
Permission granted
Navan Capacity not stated 97.05 ha site Lodged Aug 9, 2022
Ref 221044
Grid: SLANE (38 kV), 9.02 km away.
30.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAVAN.
Permission granted
Ratoath Manor Capacity not stated 95.3 ha site Lodged Jun 9, 2017
Ref RA170644
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 4.64 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Clongall Capacity not stated 93.1 ha site Lodged Oct 17, 2018
Ref TA181225
Grid: KINNEGAD (110 kV), 5.27 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KINNEGAD.
Permission granted
Summerhill Capacity not stated 91.9 ha site Lodged Mar 25, 2021
Ref 21546
Grid: CLARKSTOWN (38 kV), 3.8 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARKSTOWN.
Permission granted
Ward Capacity not stated 87.63 ha site Lodged May 30, 2017
Ref AA170600
Grid: CORDUFF (220 kV), 3.38 km away.
38.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CORDUFF.
Permission granted
Ward Capacity not stated 87.63 ha site Lodged Aug 13, 2020
Ref AA201085
Grid: CORDUFF (220 kV), 3.44 km away.
38.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CORDUFF.
Permission granted
Ratoath Capacity not stated 82.5 ha site Lodged Feb 3, 2021
Ref 21180
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 4.29 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Duleek Capacity not stated 81.3 ha site Lodged Apr 9, 2020
Ref LB200487
Grid: DULEEK (38 kV), 1.95 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DULEEK.
Under appeal
Kells Capacity not stated 74.2 ha site Lodged Dec 20, 2024
Ref 2560014
Grid: KELLS (38 kV), 2.66 km away.
5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at KELLS.
Permission granted
Ratoath Capacity not stated 68.8 ha site Lodged Feb 6, 2025
Ref 2560112
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 3.08 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Crackenstown Capacity not stated 68.8 ha site Lodged Aug 4, 2020
Ref AA201054
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 3.07 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Muckerstown Capacity not stated 68.4 ha site Lodged Oct 18, 2022
Ref 221368
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 1.99 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Muckerstown Capacity not stated 68.4 ha site Lodged Nov 21, 2018
Ref AA181386
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 1.85 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Curragha Capacity not stated 62.96 ha site Lodged Jul 17, 2025
Ref 2560750
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 0.32 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Ashbourne 35.0 MW stated 56.76 ha site Lodged Jul 25, 2017
Ref AA170860
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 2.98 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Ashbourne 31.5 MW stated 54.57 ha site Lodged May 4, 2017
Ref RA170479
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 3.22 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Ashbourne Capacity not stated 42.88 ha site Lodged Nov 12, 2021
Ref 212165
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 2.36 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Drogheda Capacity not stated 41.3 ha site Lodged May 9, 2023
Ref 23495
Grid: BETTYSTOWN (38 kV), 2.05 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BETTYSTOWN.
Permission granted
Summerhill Capacity not stated 40.1 ha site Lodged Nov 19, 2024
Ref 2460979
Grid: CLARKSTOWN (38 kV), 3.85 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARKSTOWN.
Application submitted
Ratoath Capacity not stated 36.3 ha site Lodged Jul 30, 2026
Ref 2660951
Grid: BALTRASNA (110 kV), 1.59 km away.
2.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALTRASNA.
Permission granted
Kells Capacity not stated 35.81 ha site Lodged Feb 26, 2024
Ref 2460134
Grid: GARISTOWN (38 kV), 2.12 km away.
5.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at KELLS.
Permission granted
Killsallaghan Capacity not stated 34.4 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2021
Ref 211436
Grid: ASHBOURNE (38 kV), 1.25 km away.
3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ASHBOURNE.
Permission granted
Navan Capacity not stated 33.97 ha site Lodged Feb 23, 2024
Ref 2460131
Grid: KNOCKUMBER (110 kV), 0.99 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKUMBER.
Application submitted
Mullagh Capacity not stated 30.72 ha site Lodged Jul 8, 2026
Ref 2660850
Grid: MULLAGH (38 kV), 0.92 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at MULLAGH.
Permission granted
Kilclone Capacity not stated 26.08 ha site Lodged Sep 2, 2024
Ref ABP-320738
Grid: KILCOCK (38 kV), 3.92 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILCOCK.