Renewable energy projects in Dublin City

Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register, joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.

Enter an Eircode, or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the country are covered.

40
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
26
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
135.0
MW stated
from 3 of 40 applications that state one
13195.4
Hectares of site area
across 40 applications
1
Substations with no capacity
of 187 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
3 have been appealed at some point

Where they are

The map plots 40 projects on a background supplied by OpenStreetMap, which receives your IP address when it loads.

Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that case publishes. Colour shows planning status.

Planning status

Planning status of renewable projects in Dublin City Permission granted 26 Permission refused 2 No decision recorded 12

Technologies

Technologies in the Dublin City pipeline Solar 35 Battery storage 6 Wind 2

A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.

Grid capacity

23 of 40 projects are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link (57.5%). The remaining 17 are listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.

0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.

Areas

Own land near one of these?

We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.

Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the areas you name.

No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this site is an offer or a recommendation.

Live applications

Solar — Dublin 6

Permission granted Dublin 6Capacity not stated380.0 ha siteLodged Nov 20, 2024 Ref WEB2542/24
Grid: LEESON STREET (38 kV), 0.3 km away. 15 MW of firm generation capacity available at LEESON STREET.

Solar — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 4Capacity not stated15.06 ha siteLodged May 31, 2024 Ref PWSDZ3798/24
Grid: RINGSEND (110 kV), 0.46 km away. 29.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at RINGSEND.

Solar — Malahide Road

Permission granted Malahide RoadCapacity not stated9.481089 ha siteLodged Nov 21, 2019 Ref 4498/19
Grid: FAIRVIEW (38 kV), 0.68 km away. 8.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONTARF.

Solar — Dubli

Permission granted DubliCapacity not stated6.879628 ha siteLodged Aug 21, 2020 Ref 3228/20
Grid: IIG (38 kV), 0.69 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for IIG.

Solar — Dublin 12

Permission granted Dublin 12Capacity not stated5.5184 ha siteLodged Dec 1, 2023 Ref 4900/23
Grid: HAROLDS CROSS (110 kV), 1.21 km away. 12.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CRUMLIN.

Solar — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 4Capacity not stated5.4873 ha siteLodged Mar 10, 2022 Ref 3496/22
Grid: NUTLEY LANE (110 kV), 0.25 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for NUTLEY LANE.

Battery storage + Wind — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 475.0 MW stated5.328181 ha siteLodged Oct 23, 2020 Ref 3625/20
Grid: SHELLYBANKS (220 kV), 0.07 km away. 281.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at POOLBEG.

Solar — Dublin 8

Permission granted Dublin 8Capacity not stated4.5842 ha siteLodged Jul 29, 2022 Ref 4588/22
Grid: WATLING STREET (38 kV), 0.26 km away. 5.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at WATLING STREET.

Solar — Dublin 9

Permission granted Dublin 9Capacity not stated4.539494 ha siteLodged May 26, 2021 Ref 2833/21
Grid: WHITEHALL (38 kV), 1.03 km away. 13.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at DRUMCONDRA.

Solar — Dublin 3

Permission granted Dublin 3Capacity not stated4.453238 ha siteLodged Nov 4, 2021 Ref 3803/21
Grid: CLONTARF (38 kV), 1.09 km away. 8.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONTARF.

Solar — Dublin 5

Permission granted Dublin 5Capacity not stated4.3947 ha siteLodged Jun 1, 2023 Ref 3878/23
Grid: COOLOCK (38 kV), 0.32 km away. 13.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at COOLOCK.

Solar — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 4Capacity not stated4.26 ha siteLodged Jun 12, 2023 Ref 3937/23
Grid: SERPENTINE AVENUE (38 kV), 0.58 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SERPENTINE AVENUE.

Solar — Dublin 13

Permission granted Dublin 13Capacity not stated3.967076 ha siteLodged Mar 25, 2019 Ref 2591/19
Grid: GRANGE (DR) (110 kV), 0.31 km away. 33.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE (DR).

Solar — Dublin 11

Permission granted Dublin 11Capacity not stated3.7681 ha siteLodged Apr 17, 2023 Ref 3568/23
Grid: POPPINTREE (110 kV), 0.3 km away. 12.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at BALLYMUN.

Solar — Technology Park

Permission granted Technology ParkCapacity not stated3.6637 ha siteLodged Oct 6, 2021 Ref 3641/21
Grid: CROMCASTLE (110 kV), 0.2 km away. 13.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONSHAUGH.

Battery storage — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 430.0 MW stated3.516806 ha siteLodged Oct 29, 2020 Ref 3646/20
Grid: IRISHTOWN (220 kV), 0.18 km away. ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for IRISHTOWN.

Solar — Dublin 4

Permission granted Dublin 4Capacity not stated2.9328 ha siteLodged Jun 21, 2024 Ref 3886/24
Grid: NUTLEY LANE (110 kV), 0.6 km away. 14.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at MERRION SQUARE.

Solar — Dublin 1

Permission granted Dublin 1Capacity not stated2.86 ha siteLodged Jan 13, 2022 Ref 3054/22
Grid: SHERIFF STREET (38 kV), 0.18 km away. 13.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at SHERIFF STREET.

Solar — Dublin 13

Permission granted Dublin 13Capacity not stated2.66 ha siteLodged Mar 10, 2023 Ref 3355/23
Grid: GRANGE (DR) (110 kV), 0.31 km away. 33.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANGE (DR).

Solar — Dublin 12

Permission granted Dublin 12Capacity not stated2.625343 ha siteLodged May 21, 2021 Ref 2812/21
Grid: INCHICORE NORTH (38 kV), 0.81 km away. 9.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at INCHICORE NORTH.

Solar — Dublin 1

Permission granted Dublin 1Capacity not stated2.347089 ha siteLodged Apr 23, 2021 Ref 2646/21
Grid: GRANBY ROW (38 kV), 0.21 km away. 15.9 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRANBY ROW.

Solar — Dublin 5

Permission granted Dublin 5Capacity not stated2.21822 ha siteLodged May 18, 2022 Ref 4004/22
Grid: ARTANE (110 kV), 0.63 km away. 23.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at ARTANE.

Solar — Dublin 7

Permission granted Dublin 7Capacity not stated2.136695 ha siteLodged Sep 23, 2020 Ref 3435/20
Grid: WOLFE TONE STREET (110 kV), 0.58 km away. 30.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at WOLFE TONE STREET.

Battery storage + Solar — Dublin 17

Permission granted Dublin 17Capacity not stated2.103592 ha siteLodged Oct 2, 2025 Ref WEB5290/25
Grid: CLONSHAUGH (38 kV), 0.1 km away. 13.7 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLONSHAUGH.

Battery storage — Dubli

Permission granted DubliCapacity not stated2.030954 ha siteLodged May 30, 2025 Ref WEB2226/25
Grid: INCHICORE (110 kV), 0.21 km away. 315.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at INCHICORE.

Battery storage — Dublin 8

Permission granted Dublin 830.0 MW stated1.1751040000000001 ha siteLodged Oct 23, 2019 Ref 4282/19
Grid: INCHICORE (110 kV), 0.15 km away. 315.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at INCHICORE.