County Kildare
Renewable energy projects in County Kildare
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
123
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
53
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
880.1
MW stated
from 21 of 123 applications that state one
7393.1
Hectares of site area
across 111 applications
15
Substations with no capacity
of 233 near these projects
5
Under appeal now
28 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 123 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Kildare
Application submitted
2
Under appeal
5
Permission granted
46
Permission refused
11
Withdrawn
3
Permission lapsed
23
No decision recorded
33
Technologies
Technologies in the County Kildare pipeline
Solar
105
Battery storage
20
Wind
14
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
55 of 123 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(44.7%). The remaining 68 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
29 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Rochestown Capacity not stated 246.0 ha site Lodged May 26, 2023
Ref 23567
Grid: DUNSTOWN (400 kV), 0.94 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNSTOWN.
Application submitted
Coolsickin/Quinsborough Capacity not stated 221.97 ha site Lodged Feb 5, 2026
Ref ABP-324055
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 6.98 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.
Permission granted
Roosk Capacity not stated 180.0 ha site Lodged Mar 28, 2025
Ref 2560326
Grid: MAYNOOTH (220 kV), 0.64 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MAYNOOTH.
Under appeal
Garrisker Capacity not stated 173.3 ha site Lodged Nov 7, 2024
Ref 2461180
Grid: DUNFIRTH (38 kV), 8.07 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNFIRTH.
Permission granted
Swordlestown South Capacity not stated 129.0 ha site Lodged Feb 4, 2022
Ref 22111
Grid: NAAS (38 kV), 3.15 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Under appeal
Naas 105.0 MW stated 128.6 ha site Lodged Feb 2, 2024
Ref 2460079
Grid: DUNSTOWN (400 kV), 2.58 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Permission granted
Coolcor Carbury 100.0 MW stated 121.5 ha site Lodged Mar 25, 2022
Ref 22327
Grid: EDENDERRY (38 kV), 1.25 km away.
10.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at EDENDERRY.
Permission granted
Timahoe West 80.0 MW stated 114.0 ha site Lodged Oct 7, 2022
Ref 221203
Grid: ALLENWOOD (38 kV), 4.64 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ALLENWOOD.
Permission granted
Mucklon 56.0 MW stated 80.9 ha site Lodged Jun 24, 2024
Ref 2460568
Grid: DUNFIRTH (38 kV), 1.69 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNFIRTH.
Application submitted
Drehid Capacity not stated 73.63 ha site Lodged Jun 19, 2025
Ref ABP-322845
Grid: DUNFIRTH (38 kV), 3.67 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNFIRTH.
Permission granted
Leixlip Capacity not stated 72.23 ha site Lodged Jul 18, 2023
Ref 2360047
Grid: RINAWADE (110 kV), 0.83 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for RINAWADE.
Permission granted
Timahoe West 120.0 MW stated 71.7 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2023
Ref 2360073
Grid: ALLENWOOD (38 kV), 4.47 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for ALLENWOOD.
Permission granted
Guidenstown South Capacity not stated 49.74 ha site Lodged Nov 3, 2020
Ref 201325
Grid: KILDARE (38 kV), 3.29 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILDARE.
Permission granted
Celbridge Capacity not stated 47.44 ha site Lodged Jul 14, 2023
Ref 2360037
Grid: GRIFFINRATH (110 kV), 1.46 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CELBRIDGE.
Under appeal
Kilglass 35.0 MW stated 45.9 ha site Lodged Mar 20, 2025
Ref 2560291
Grid: EDENDERRY (38 kV), 7.21 km away.
10.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at EDENDERRY.
Permission granted
Celbridge Capacity not stated 44.21 ha site Lodged Sep 2, 2021
Ref 211256
Grid: GRIFFINRATH (110 kV), 0.67 km away.
2.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at GRIFFINRATH.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 38.08 ha site Lodged Aug 6, 2019
Ref 19888
Grid: DUNFIRTH (38 kV), 2.64 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNFIRTH.
Under appeal
Naas Capacity not stated 37.51 ha site Lodged Aug 13, 2024
Ref 2460787
Grid: NAAS (38 kV), 3.18 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Permission granted
Roosk Capacity not stated 25.04 ha site Lodged Feb 3, 2021
Ref 21114
Grid: MAYNOOTH (220 kV), 2.07 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MAYNOOTH.
Permission granted
Loughlion Capacity not stated 23.4 ha site Lodged Jul 31, 2023
Ref 2360077
Grid: KILDARE (38 kV), 1.49 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILDARE.
Permission granted
Kilcullen 4.5 MW stated 21.63 ha site Lodged Oct 11, 2024
Ref 2461046
Grid: DUNSTOWN (400 kV), 2.21 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at KILCULLEN.
Permission granted
Leixlip 10.0 MW stated 19.3 ha site Lodged Jan 10, 2022
Ref 226
Grid: RYEBROOK (110 kV), 0.93 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LEIXLIP GENERATOR.
Permission granted
Leixlip Capacity not stated 14.324 ha site Lodged May 12, 2023
Ref 23513
Grid: LEIXLIP GENERATOR (38 kV), 0.64 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for LEIXLIP GENERATOR.
Permission granted
Confey 7.8 MW stated 13.16 ha site Lodged Nov 22, 2021
Ref 211639
Grid: WALTERSTOWN (110 kV), 1.24 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for WALTERSTOWN.
Permission granted
Johnstownbridge Capacity not stated 11.5 ha site Lodged Nov 2, 2017
Ref 171222
Grid: DUNFIRTH (38 kV), 1.62 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at DUNFIRTH.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 10.8 ha site Lodged Nov 24, 2020
Ref 201418
Grid: MONREAD (110 kV), 0.38 km away.
17.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MONREAD.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 10.8 ha site Lodged Feb 21, 2025
Ref 2560166
Grid: MONREAD (110 kV), 0.36 km away.
17.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MONREAD.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 7.79 ha site Lodged Jun 21, 2023
Ref 23683
Grid: MONREAD (110 kV), 0.27 km away.
17.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MONREAD.
Permission granted
Ladytown Naas Capacity not stated 5.387 ha site Lodged Mar 4, 2026
Ref 2660234
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 1.98 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 5.0 ha site Lodged Jul 25, 2024
Ref 2460715
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 1.99 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Permission granted
Kildare Town Capacity not stated 4.83 ha site Lodged Oct 24, 2023
Ref 2360321
Grid: KILDARE (38 kV), 1.49 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILDARE.
Permission granted
Newbridge Capacity not stated 4.7 ha site Lodged Dec 17, 2021
Ref 211780
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 0.97 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at NEWBRIDGE.
Permission granted
Newbridge Capacity not stated 4.5 ha site Lodged Dec 20, 2024
Ref 24393
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 0.97 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at NEWBRIDGE.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 4.35 ha site Lodged Aug 5, 2022
Ref 22969
Grid: NAAS (38 kV), 1.77 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 4.2 ha site Lodged Nov 24, 2023
Ref 2360410
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 2.26 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.
Under appeal
Dunnstown Capacity not stated 4.089 ha site Lodged May 6, 2021
Ref 21608
Grid: DUNSTOWN (400 kV), 0.44 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DUNSTOWN.
Permission granted
Athy Capacity not stated 3.95 ha site Lodged Dec 20, 2021
Ref 211788
Grid: STRADBALLY ROAD (38 kV), 1.29 km away.
22 MW of firm generation capacity available at ATHY.
Permission granted
Newbridge Capacity not stated 3.8 ha site Lodged Jul 12, 2024
Ref 2460657
Grid: BARODA (110 kV), 0.53 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at NEWBRIDGE.
Permission granted
Rathangan Capacity not stated 3.8 ha site Lodged May 21, 2025
Ref 2560540
Grid: KILDARE (38 kV), 7.07 km away.
15.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILDARE.
Permission granted
Naas Capacity not stated 3.56 ha site Lodged Oct 27, 2024
Ref 2461126
Grid: SALLINS (38 kV), 5.01 km away.
5.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at NAAS.