County Cork
Renewable energy projects in County Cork
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
373
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
233
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
1455.9
MW stated
from 74 of 373 applications that state one
4904.5
Hectares of site area
across 65 applications
34
Substations with no capacity
of 191 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
0 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 373 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Cork
Application submitted
12
Permission granted
221
Permission refused
33
Withdrawn
20
No decision recorded
87
Technologies
Technologies in the County Cork pipeline
Wind
196
Solar
162
Battery storage
44
Grid infrastructure
1
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
200 of 373 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(53.6%). The remaining 173 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
56 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Lyremountain Capacity not stated 731.82 ha site Lodged Jan 8, 2021
Ref ABP-309121
Grid: BLACKWATER BRIDGE (38 kV), 8.07 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BLACKWATER BRIDGE.
Permission granted
Cummeennabuddoge Capacity not stated 703.44 ha site Lodged Sep 9, 2022
Ref ABP-314602
Grid: CROSSLEA (voltage not published), 3.93 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CROSSLEA.
Permission granted
Drominahilla Capacity not stated 613.5 ha site Lodged Jan 28, 2022
Ref ABP-312606
Grid: BOGGERAGH (110 kV), 3.55 km away.
16.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at BOGGERAGH.
Application submitted
Shiplough Capacity not stated 501.6 ha site Lodged Mar 30, 2026
Ref ABP-324165
Grid: KEALKILL (38 kV), 5.58 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KEALKILL.
Permission granted
Castleblagh Capacity not stated 448.75 ha site Lodged Dec 11, 2020
Ref ABP-308885
Grid: CASTLETOWNROCHE (38 kV), 10.03 km away.
4.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLETOWNROCHE.
Application submitted
Cornaveigh Capacity not stated 323.28 ha site Lodged Aug 13, 2026
Ref 26/2133
Grid: BLACKWATER BRIDGE (38 kV), 3.95 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BLACKWATER BRIDGE.
Permission granted
Charleville Capacity not stated 102.76 ha site Lodged Jan 20, 2020
Ref 20/4041
Grid: CHARLEVILLE (110 kV), 3.37 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLEVILLE.
Permission granted
Clashganniv Capacity not stated 67.8 ha site Lodged Jul 13, 2017
Ref 17/5799
Grid: CHARLEVILLE (110 kV), 3.71 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLEVILLE.
Permission granted
Clashganniv Capacity not stated 67.8 ha site Lodged Nov 14, 2022
Ref 22/6536
Grid: CHARLEVILLE (110 kV), 3.71 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLEVILLE.
Permission granted
Ballynahina Whitechurch Capacity not stated 64.55 ha site Lodged Feb 14, 2023
Ref 23/4245
Grid: WHITECHURCH (38 kV), 3.36 km away.
6 MW of firm generation capacity available at WHITECHURCH.
Permission granted
Newmarket Capacity not stated 62.62 ha site Lodged Dec 2, 2014
Ref 14/6578
Grid: TAURBEG (38 kV), 2.98 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TAURBEG.
Permission granted
Glennakeel West Capacity not stated 62.62 ha site Lodged Jun 4, 2021
Ref 21/5575
Grid: TAURBEG (38 kV), 2.98 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TAURBEG.
Permission granted
Midleton Capacity not stated 56.59 ha site Lodged Dec 18, 2020
Ref ABP-308979
Grid: AVONCORE (38 kV), 2.62 km away.
20.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MIDLETON.
Permission granted
Leamlara Capacity not stated 48.4 ha site Lodged Jun 2, 2017
Ref 17/5370
Grid: FOREST (38 kV), 2.41 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRAHA.
Permission granted
Clashganniv Ballyhea Charleville Capacity not stated 42.6 ha site Lodged Jul 18, 2022
Ref 22/5681
Grid: CHARLEVILLE (110 kV), 3.51 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CHARLEVILLE.
Permission granted
Fermoy Capacity not stated 41.72 ha site Lodged Jun 28, 2024
Ref 24/5211
Grid: BARRYMORE (110 kV), 1.45 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASTLELYONS.
Permission granted
Cullen Capacity not stated 32.2 ha site Lodged Feb 13, 2017
Ref 17/4308
Grid: CLOONBANNIN (38 kV), 2.42 km away.
4.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLOONBANNIN.
Permission granted
Kilcummer Upper Castletownroche Capacity not stated 21.9 ha site Lodged Sep 29, 2016
Ref 16/6410
Grid: CASTLETOWNROCHE (38 kV), 1.4 km away.
4.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at CASTLETOWNROCHE.
Permission granted
Inniscarra Capacity not stated 21.3 ha site Lodged Dec 13, 2018
Ref 18/7280
Grid: CURRALEIGH (38 kV), 4.04 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CURRALEIGH.
Permission granted
Cloyne 5.7 MW stated 13.95 ha site Lodged May 25, 2016
Ref 16/5269
Grid: CLOYNE (38 kV), 4.3 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CLOYNE.
Permission granted
Crocane Cloyne 5.7 MW stated 13.95 ha site Lodged Dec 20, 2021
Ref 21/7429
Grid: CLOYNE (38 kV), 4.3 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CLOYNE.
Permission granted
Garranure Capacity not stated 11.34 ha site Lodged Aug 28, 2024
Ref 24/474
Grid: BALLINEEN (38 kV), 0.84 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for BALLINEEN.
Permission granted
Cullen Capacity not stated 10.4764 ha site Lodged Aug 25, 2023
Ref 23/5719
Grid: CLOONBANNIN (38 kV), 0.57 km away.
4.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLOONBANNIN.
Permission granted
Dromgarriff Whitechurch 5.0 MW stated 10.24 ha site Lodged Jan 18, 2022
Ref 22/4056
Grid: WHITECHURCH (38 kV), 2.27 km away.
6 MW of firm generation capacity available at WHITECHURCH.
Permission granted
Midleton Capacity not stated 8.85 ha site Lodged Nov 3, 2025
Ref 25/6374
Grid: MIDLETON (110 kV), 0.3 km away.
20.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at MIDLETON.
Application submitted
Mallow Capacity not stated 8.72 ha site Lodged Mar 27, 2026
Ref 26/0765
Grid: SCARTEEN (38 kV), 2.16 km away.
16.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at MALLOW.
Permission granted
Timoleague 5.0 MW stated 8.6 ha site Lodged Nov 20, 2025
Ref 25/6532
Grid: TIMOLEAGUE (38 kV), 0.43 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TIMOLEAGUE.
Permission granted
Leamlara Capacity not stated 7.8 ha site Lodged Mar 29, 2023
Ref 23/4564
Grid: FOREST (38 kV), 2.25 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRAHA.
Application submitted
Inniscarra Capacity not stated 7.5 ha site Lodged Aug 14, 2026
Ref 26/2143
Grid: CURRALEIGH (38 kV), 0.41 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CURRALEIGH.
Permission granted
Youghal 5.0 MW stated 5.44 ha site Lodged May 19, 2017
Ref 17/5245
Grid: FOXHOLE (38 kV), 0.68 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at FOXHOLE.
Permission granted
Kileena Capacity not stated 5.18 ha site Lodged Aug 9, 2024
Ref ABP-320532
Grid: KNOCKRAHA (220 kV), 0.23 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRAHA.
Application submitted
Bandon Capacity not stated 4.61 ha site Lodged Dec 17, 2025
Ref 25/6845
Grid: BANDON (110 kV), 1.34 km away.
11.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANDON.
Permission granted
Ballybeg Turbeagh Capacity not stated 3.76 ha site Lodged Jun 28, 2024
Ref 24/5212
Grid: CLOONLOUGH (38 kV), 2.99 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CLOONLOUGH.
Permission granted
Scartlea Upper Capacity not stated 3.41 ha site Lodged Dec 8, 2023
Ref ABP-318685
Grid: CARRIGSHANE (38 kV), 5 km away.
8.8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CARRIGSHANE.
Permission granted
Whitegate 159.0 MW stated 3.3 ha site Lodged Oct 20, 2021
Ref 21/6856
Grid: AGHADA 110KV (110 kV), 0.29 km away.
4.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHADA.
Permission granted
Ballincarroonig Whitegate 159.0 MW stated 3.2 ha site Lodged Apr 16, 2019
Ref 19/4891
Grid: AGHADA 110KV (110 kV), 0.28 km away.
4.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHADA.
Permission granted
Youghal Capacity not stated 2.57 ha site Lodged Feb 27, 2020
Ref 20/4407
Grid: FOXHOLE (38 kV), 0.62 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at FOXHOLE.
Application submitted
Kockraha Capacity not stated 2.15 ha site Lodged Feb 17, 2026
Ref ABP-324082
Grid: KNOCKRAHA (220 kV), 0.33 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKRAHA.
Permission granted
Ballincarroonig Whitegate 19.0 MW stated 1.8 ha site Lodged Feb 17, 2020
Ref 20/4294
Grid: AGHADA (220 kV), 0.11 km away.
4.3 MW of firm generation capacity available at AGHADA.
Application submitted
Bandon Capacity not stated 1.29 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2025
Ref 25/6877
Grid: BANDON (110 kV), 0.51 km away.
11.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at BANDON.