County Tipperary
Renewable energy projects in County Tipperary
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
163
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
76
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
779.0
MW stated
from 20 of 163 applications that state one
6656.5
Hectares of site area
across 117 applications
39
Substations with no capacity
of 136 near these projects
1
Under appeal now
19 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 163 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Tipperary
Application submitted
6
Further information reque…
1
Under appeal
1
Permission granted
68
Permission refused
2
Withdrawn
6
Permission lapsed
16
No decision recorded
63
Technologies
Technologies in the County Tipperary pipeline
Solar
117
Wind
36
Battery storage
31
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
74 of 163 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(45.4%). The remaining 89 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
90 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Application submitted
Lanespark Capacity not stated 1125.62 ha site Lodged Jun 15, 2026
Ref ABP-324370
Grid: GLENGOOLE (38 kV), 3.82 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at GLENGOOLE.
Permission granted
Templemore Capacity not stated 401.6 ha site Lodged Dec 14, 2023
Ref ABP-318704
Grid: TEMPLEMORE (38 kV), 3.48 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at TEMPLEMORE.
Application submitted
Cronekill Capacity not stated 365.57 ha site Lodged May 8, 2026
Ref ABP-324279
Grid: BIRR (38 kV), 6.43 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BIRR.
Permission granted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 352.6 ha site Lodged Mar 3, 2021
Ref 21261
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 4.52 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Ballygammane Capacity not stated 330.68 ha site Lodged Dec 12, 2024
Ref ABP-321454
Grid: LOUGHTAGALLA (38 kV), 3.6 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at LOUGHTAGALLA.
Permission granted
Graigue Capacity not stated 222.2 ha site Lodged Jan 3, 2025
Ref 2560003
Grid: HOLYCROSS ROAD (38 kV), 5.49 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at HOLYCROSS ROAD.
Application submitted
Cashel Capacity not stated 151.0 ha site Lodged Aug 28, 2026
Ref 2660834
Grid: CASHEL (38 kV), 2.1 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASHEL.
Permission granted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 142.7 ha site Lodged Dec 6, 2022
Ref 22662
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 4.28 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Dually Capacity not stated 129.0 ha site Lodged Mar 4, 2024
Ref 2460156
Grid: CASHEL (38 kV), 3.89 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASHEL.
Permission granted
Seskin Capacity not stated 103.03 ha site Lodged May 7, 2021
Ref ABP-310171
Grid: SCREGGAN (110 kV), 5.38 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SCREGGAN.
Permission granted
Seskin Capacity not stated 92.0 ha site Lodged Aug 16, 2022
Ref 2260420
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 0.39 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Nenagh Capacity not stated 88.5 ha site Lodged Feb 7, 2024
Ref 2460074
Grid: TYONE (38 kV), 3.25 km away.
12.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at NENAGH.
Permission granted
Cornhill Capacity not stated 78.91 ha site Lodged Sep 22, 2023
Ref 2360763
Grid: BIRR (38 kV), 8.08 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at DALLOW.
Permission granted
Killoran 122.0 MW stated 77.0 ha site Lodged Jul 30, 2021
Ref 211128
Grid: LISHEEN (110 kV), 0.99 km away.
20.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at LISHEEN.
Permission granted
Rathkeevin 60.0 MW stated 66.95 ha site Lodged Jun 22, 2023
Ref 23172
Grid: LAWLESSTOWN (38 kV), 5.13 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at LAWLESSTOWN.
Application submitted
Solloghod-More 53.1 MW stated 65.9 ha site Lodged Jul 10, 2026
Ref 2660672
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 1.05 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Derrymore Roscrea Capacity not stated 58.11 ha site Lodged Jan 20, 2023
Ref 2310
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 2.75 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Donohill Capacity not stated 54.5 ha site Lodged Feb 25, 2022
Ref 22165
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 2.14 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Thomastown Demesne South Capacity not stated 42.68 ha site Lodged May 19, 2026
Ref 2660469
Grid: TIPPERARY (110 kV), 2.71 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at TIPPERARY.
Permission granted
Lisheennamalausa Capacity not stated 39.0 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2021
Ref 211109
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 1.04 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Mountphilips Capacity not stated 37.19 ha site Lodged Dec 13, 2019
Ref ABP-306204
Grid: KNOCKANE (110 kV), 5.91 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for KNOCKANE.
Further information requested
Nenagh Capacity not stated 34.26 ha site Lodged May 29, 2026
Ref 2660534
Grid: NENAGH (110 kV), 5.58 km away.
12.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at NENAGH.
Permission granted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 34.11 ha site Lodged Aug 29, 2023
Ref 2360677
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 2.91 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Application submitted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 34.11 ha site Lodged Jul 8, 2026
Ref 2660660
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 2.91 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Cahir Capacity not stated 30.08 ha site Lodged Jul 19, 2022
Ref 2260376
Grid: CAHIR (110 kV), 0.59 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CAHIR.
Permission granted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 29.09 ha site Lodged Nov 28, 2019
Ref 19601323
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 0.57 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Roscrea Capacity not stated 29.09 ha site Lodged Nov 28, 2022
Ref 22652
Grid: IKERRIN (110 kV), 0.57 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ROSCREA.
Permission granted
Nenagh Capacity not stated 19.18 ha site Lodged Mar 16, 2022
Ref 22225
Grid: TYONE (38 kV), 1.38 km away.
12.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at NENAGH.
Permission granted
Gortdrum Capacity not stated 17.44 ha site Lodged Jan 5, 2024
Ref 2460006
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 2.63 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Clonmel Capacity not stated 15.9 ha site Lodged Feb 5, 2026
Ref 2660086
Grid: ARDGEEHA (38 kV), 1.09 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ARDGEEHA.
Permission granted
Donohill 8.0 MW stated 15.04 ha site Lodged May 2, 2017
Ref 17600456
Grid: CAUTEEN (110 kV), 1.07 km away.
8.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at CAUTEEN.
Permission granted
Derryville Capacity not stated 13.75 ha site Lodged Jul 28, 2022
Ref 2260395
Grid: LISHEEN (110 kV), 2.05 km away.
20.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at LISHEEN.
Permission granted
Lacken Kilballygorman Capacity not stated 12.5 ha site Lodged Apr 9, 2021
Ref 21473
Grid: ARDFINNAN (38 kV), 1.17 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at ARDFINNAN.
Permission granted
Ballinvoher Redm Capacity not stated 11.7 ha site Lodged Oct 9, 2025
Ref 2561016
Grid: CALLAN (38 kV), 11.1 km away.
1.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at CALLAN.
Permission granted
Ballynilard Capacity not stated 10.8 ha site Lodged Sep 25, 2023
Ref 2360765
Grid: KILROSS ROAD (38 kV), 0.66 km away.
4.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at KILROSS ROAD.
Permission granted
Holycross Road Thurles Capacity not stated 10.06 ha site Lodged Aug 30, 2023
Ref 2360682
Grid: HOLYCROSS ROAD (38 kV), 0.22 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at HOLYCROSS ROAD.
Permission granted
Thurles Capacity not stated 9.3 ha site Lodged Dec 21, 2022
Ref 2260732
Grid: HOLYCROSS ROAD (38 kV), 0.53 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at HOLYCROSS ROAD.
Permission granted
Carrick-On-Suir 3.6 MW stated 9.12 ha site Lodged Aug 23, 2017
Ref 17600928
Grid: DEERPARK (38 kV), 0.92 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at DEERPARK.
Permission granted
Carrick-On-Suir Capacity not stated 9.12 ha site Lodged Dec 15, 2021
Ref 211819
Grid: DEERPARK (38 kV), 0.92 km away.
0.6 MW of firm generation capacity available at DEERPARK.
Permission granted
Golden Capacity not stated 6.424 ha site Lodged Apr 30, 2025
Ref 2569
Grid: CASHEL (38 kV), 5.95 km away.
No firm generation capacity currently available at CASHEL.