County Offaly
Renewable energy projects in County Offaly
Every solar, wind and battery application in the county's planning register,
joined to the ESB Networks substation nearest it and the generation capacity that substation
has available. Updated from public records; last checked Sep 1, 2026.
Find projects near you
Search
Enter an Eircode , or a town, village or townland name. Only the routing
key — the first three characters — is used and it is never stored: that places you within
a few kilometres of your town, which is all this needs, and Eircode's full address
database is licensed and not public anyway. All 139 routing keys in the
country are covered.
169
Utility-scale projects
solar, wind and battery
71
Still live in the system
not refused, withdrawn or lapsed
1728.4
MW stated
from 35 of 169 applications that state one
10931.2
Hectares of site area
across 147 applications
8
Substations with no capacity
of 70 near these projects
0
Under appeal now
14 have been appealed at some point
Where they are
The map plots 169 projects on a background supplied by
OpenStreetMap , which receives your IP address when it loads.
The map needs JavaScript. Every project is listed in full below either way.
Positions are as published in the national planning register, or — for
applications made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala — at the centre of the site boundary that
case publishes. Colour shows planning status.
Planning status
Planning status of renewable projects in County Offaly
Application submitted
3
Further information reque…
4
Permission granted
64
Permission refused
6
Withdrawn
7
Permission lapsed
22
No decision recorded
63
Technologies
Technologies in the County Offaly pipeline
Solar
85
Wind
57
Battery storage
36
Grid infrastructure
4
A project appears under each technology it includes, so co-located
solar-and-battery schemes are counted in both.
Grid capacity
89 of 169 projects
are matched to a named substation with enough confidence to publish the link
(52.7%). The remaining 80 are
listed as unmatched rather than guessed — matching a project to the wrong substation is worse
than leaving it unmatched, so a name match must also be corroborated by distance before it counts.
0 projects sit at a substation ESB Networks
currently publishes as having no firm generation capacity available.
Areas
Own land near one of these?
We track every solar, wind and battery application in the national planning register — and the
large ones made directly to An Coimisiun Pleanala, which never reach a council register at all — as
they move through planning, and which substations still have capacity to take a connection. If you
want to be told when something is lodged near your land, leave an email address.
Email us to be added to the list — we will only use it to send project alerts for the
areas you name.
No lease rates or valuations are published here, and nothing on this
site is an offer or a recommendation.
Live applications
Permission granted
Derrinlough Capacity not stated 2360.31 ha site Lodged Feb 20, 2020
Ref ABP-306706
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 4.9 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Walshisland Capacity not stated 1903.0 ha site Lodged Jun 21, 2021
Ref 21383
Grid: MOUNT LUCAS (110 kV), 4.21 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MOUNT LUCAS.
Application submitted
Kilnagoolny Capacity not stated 1107.18 ha site Lodged Mar 27, 2026
Ref ABP-324161
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 9.79 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Esker More Capacity not stated 960.82 ha site Lodged Oct 27, 2016
Ref ABP-PA0047
Grid: CUSHALING (110 kV), 2.4 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CUSHALING.
Permission granted
Ballindown Capacity not stated 289.11 ha site Lodged Jan 8, 2024
Ref ABP-318816
Grid: DALLOW (110 kV), 3.03 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at DALLOW.
Permission granted
Lea More Capacity not stated 247.0 ha site Lodged Jan 26, 2023
Ref 2320
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 4.36 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Further information requested
Derrinlough 145.0 MW stated 148.0 ha site Lodged May 1, 2026
Ref 2660237
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 4.44 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Freagh Capacity not stated 142.3 ha site Lodged Feb 24, 2023
Ref 2374
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 8.05 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Rhode Capacity not stated 137.0 ha site Lodged Mar 20, 2025
Ref 2560082
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 2.72 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Rhode Capacity not stated 132.0 ha site Lodged Oct 13, 2020
Ref 20494
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 2.73 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Kilcappagh Capacity not stated 120.2 ha site Lodged Sep 7, 2017
Ref 17335
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 3.43 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.
Permission granted
Edenderry Capacity not stated 117.4 ha site Lodged Sep 30, 2021
Ref 21598
Grid: CUSHALING (110 kV), 0.38 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CUSHALING.
Permission granted
Gallen Capacity not stated 87.9 ha site Lodged Aug 17, 2023
Ref 2360071
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 1.9 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Clondoolusk Capacity not stated 86.7 ha site Lodged Mar 11, 2021
Ref 21123
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 5.8 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 83.55 ha site Lodged Aug 3, 2022
Ref 22387
Grid: SRAH (38 kV), 2.12 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 73.9 ha site Lodged Jul 29, 2022
Ref 22378
Grid: THORNSBERRY (110 kV), 4.87 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Ballynaguilsha 40.0 MW stated 70.2 ha site Lodged Apr 20, 2021
Ref 21227
Grid: BIRR (38 kV), 3.45 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BIRR.
Permission granted
Parkmore Capacity not stated 69.0 ha site Lodged Jul 22, 2022
Ref 22368
Grid: BIRR (38 kV), 6.72 km away.
4.4 MW of firm generation capacity available at BIRR.
Permission granted
Edenderry Capacity not stated 60.67 ha site Lodged Dec 19, 2019
Ref 19606
Grid: CUSHALING (110 kV), 2.73 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CUSHALING.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 60.53 ha site Lodged Mar 3, 2021
Ref 2198
Grid: THORNSBERRY (110 kV), 4.47 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Colehill Tullamore Capacity not stated 60.53 ha site Lodged Feb 11, 2026
Ref 2660071
Grid: THORNSBERRY (110 kV), 4.47 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Ballindown Capacity not stated 56.82 ha site Lodged Aug 15, 2019
Ref 19404
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 4.54 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Puttaghan Capacity not stated 53.7 ha site Lodged Jan 15, 2021
Ref 218
Grid: THORNSBERRY (110 kV), 5.81 km away.
43.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at THORNSBERRY.
Application submitted
Ballykilleen Capacity not stated 42.25 ha site Lodged Sep 5, 2025
Ref ABP-323579
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 5.69 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Clondoolusk Capacity not stated 39.23 ha site Lodged Aug 5, 2022
Ref 22390
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 4 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.
Permission granted
Eircode 75.0 MW stated 35.5 ha site Lodged May 5, 2022
Ref 22223
Grid: SHANNONBRIDGE (220 kV), 0.03 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for SHANNONBRIDGE.
Permission granted
Killoneen Capacity not stated 34.23 ha site Lodged May 23, 2025
Ref 2560189
Grid: MOUNT LUCAS (110 kV), 2.41 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MOUNT LUCAS.
Permission granted
Ballynakill Capacity not stated 32.74 ha site Lodged Jun 23, 2020
Ref 20218
Grid: MOUNT LUCAS (110 kV), 3.72 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for MOUNT LUCAS.
Permission granted
Drinagh 25.0 MW stated 31.1 ha site Lodged Oct 6, 2021
Ref 21622
Grid: LUMCLOON (38 kV), 4.04 km away.
4.2 MW of firm generation capacity available at LUMCLOON.
Permission granted
Clara 14.0 MW stated 29.75 ha site Lodged Sep 3, 2024
Ref 2460338
Grid: CLARA (38 kV), 3.57 km away.
8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARA.
Application submitted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 28.1 ha site Lodged Apr 30, 2026
Ref 2660233
Grid: THORNSBERRY (110 kV), 6.01 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Rhode Capacity not stated 24.0 ha site Lodged Mar 20, 2025
Ref 2560083
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 2.73 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Rhode Capacity not stated 22.92 ha site Lodged Aug 6, 2021
Ref 21488
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 2.73 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Moate Capacity not stated 21.6 ha site Lodged Jan 13, 2023
Ref 235
Grid: MOATE (38 kV), 1.39 km away.
1.5 MW of firm generation capacity available at MOATE.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 17.7 ha site Lodged Jan 16, 2017
Ref 1711
Grid: SRAH (38 kV), 1.49 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Tullamore Capacity not stated 17.7 ha site Lodged Jun 30, 2023
Ref 23316
Grid: SRAH (38 kV), 1.49 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for TULLAMORE.
Permission granted
Rhode Capacity not stated 15.0 ha site Lodged Apr 30, 2019
Ref 19194
Grid: DERRYIRON (110 kV), 1 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for DERRYIRON.
Permission granted
Clara Capacity not stated 14.99 ha site Lodged Jan 24, 2022
Ref 2214
Grid: CLARA (38 kV), 0.84 km away.
8 MW of firm generation capacity available at CLARA.
Permission granted
Portarlington Capacity not stated 12.63 ha site Lodged May 4, 2023
Ref 23196
Grid: PORTARLINGTON (38 kV), 1.04 km away.
4.1 MW of firm generation capacity available at PORTARLINGTON.
Permission granted
Kilcumber Capacity not stated 8.95 ha site Lodged Mar 20, 2026
Ref 2660152
Grid: CUSHALING (110 kV), 0.24 km away.
ESB Networks has not published available generation capacity for CUSHALING.